Author Topic: HELP: Montero Sport? Ford Everest? Chevrolet Captiva  (Read 11768 times)

cecille

• View Profile
HELP: Montero Sport? Ford Everest? Chevrolet Captiva
« on: January 03, 2011, 09:12:43 PM »
Hi to all!!!

I am a newbie here and in buying cars. We have mitsubishi car na maingay and may problem sa window but we have no major problems with our Pajero for 10 years now.

I would like to buy a Big car 7 seater and im down to 3 choices - Montero Sport (2010), Ford Everest (2011) and Chevrolet Captiva. All leather upholstery, 4x2, automatic and diesel.

Things to consider:
1) Fuel Consumption
2) Maintenance
3) Performance
4) Safety
5) Comfort
6) Long term perspective

Pros and cons, please. Much appreciated.

dheezhee

• View Profile
Re: HELP: Montero Sport? Ford Everest? Chevrolet Captiva
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 11:03:12 PM »
Hi,

TGP last April 2010 (issue 62) featured a comparo between the Montero, Everest and Alterra (missed the Chevy) but I guess we can at least see the PROs and CONs of 2 of the vehicles being considered:

# These may not be the exact same models as what your looking for but I hope it helps

Mitsubishi Montero Sport
    PROs:
      - good for transitioning between driving a car to an SUV
      - younger, stylish design
      - mod friendly
      - best suspension in class

CONs:
      - less comfy seats (sporty daw kasi and not couch like)
      - only a basic sound system is included
      - wala daw leather seats (baka yung variant lang under test)

Ford Everest
    PROs:
      - iPod dock and LCD displays
      - generous legroom
      - outside noise is minimal
      - very responsive throttle
      - smooth transmission

CONs:
      - rough ride due to the 18 inch rims with low profile tires

To highlight some key differences
SpecsEverestMontero
airbags42
leatheryesno
hp141@3,500rpm134@3,500rpm
torque330@1,800rpm314@2,000rpm
transmission5-speed auto4-speed auto
curb weight1922kg1945kg