2011 Montero Sport GTV 4x4 review

By Patrick Everett Tadeo
 

TopGear.com.ph Philippine Car Review - Mitsubishi Montero Sport GTV 4x4

The Mitsubishi Montero Sport is one popular sport-utility vehicle. No sense in arguing against that. As a personal observation, I've noticed that for every two Montero Sport units I see at any given time, I can only spot a solitary unit of the vehicle it has replaced at the top of the public's shortlist for an affordable yet capable 4x4 vehicle.

Seeing how popular the Montero Sport is, it's almost a given that introducing two more powerful yet slightly more affordable variants will only continue the nameplate's dominance in the market.

One such variant is the Montero Sport GTV 4x4, and the three words that'll induce groans and headaches to those mathematically-challenged are what makes this and it's less affluent variant, the GLS-V 4x2, worth considering for new-car buyers: variable-geometry turbo (VGT).

One common problem with turbocharger-equipped vehicles is the so-called turbo lag. When a turbocharged vehicle is running on low or mid-range revolutions-per-minute (RPM) ranges, the exhaust gas produced is sparse. This means the turbocharger isn't getting enough power to boost the engine's power output. The movable vanes of the VGT solves that problem by creating a narrow passageway, which causes the exhaust gases to accelerate and spin the turbo's turbine blades faster. This increases the engine's overall efficiency across the entire RPM range.

It's this little bit of technology that seriously gives the Montero Sport the kind of power and kick its earlier variants have been lacking. It doesn't matter if you're tackling a fast corner on a makeshift dirt track on what used to be the grassy infield of the Clark International Speedway or the flat pedal-to-the-metal drag strip in the same venue; the wide grin on your face and how high your eyebrows have arched up to your forehead are proof enough of how good the add-ons to the 2.5-liter 4D56 common rail diesel engine are.

Even a shotgun ride with two-time Paris-Dakar champion Hiroshi Masuoka showed just how smooth the engine's power delivery is as the genial Japanese deftly threw the GTV through the corners. On tarmac or on dirt, Masuoka-san made quick work of the terrain as he guided the Montero Sport through the twists and curves at speeds no one would dare take on their own personal vehicle. Dirt, dust and mild scratches from the close encounters with the buntings be damned; if the Montero Sport GTV can handle the kind of thrashing it experienced in the hands of a 12-time Paris-Dakar contender, it can certainly handle the pothole-strewn streets of the Philippines.

Unfortunately, we weren't given the chance to sample the Pajero-derived Super Select 4WD system during Mitsubishi Motors Philippines' media test drive of the VGT-equipped Montero Sport variants. Then again, since it's a bit of kit from Mitsubishi's tried-and-tested, multiple-time Paris-Dakar contender, nothing much can be added to show just how competent the Montero Sport is off the beaten path.

The Montero Sport GTV is perfectly capable on the mechanical side but Mitsubishi Motors Philippines did not stop the model's upgrades there. Its interior was also thoroughly reworked.

Upon settling inside the new Montero Sport, the first thing you'll notice is the firm and supportive leather seat, particularly the eight-way power-adjustable system on the driver's side. Never has driving on rough terrain in a relatively affordable 4x4 been as comfortable as it was in a Montero Sport GTV. Immediately in front of the driver's seat, the high-contrast instrument cluster makes for some easy gauge reading while the magnesium alloy paddle shifters give you a semblance of control over the INVECS-II five-speed automatic transmission.

The biggest improvement inside, however, lies in the multimedia and information system with a seven-inch liquid crystal display monitor in the center console. Besides the requisite entertainment feature, which can play DVDs or other media through its iPod connector or USB port, the system also has Bluetooth connectivity that is fast becoming a standard safety feature for hands-free telephone conversations. On top of other useful--and sometimes vital--real-time information like fuel consumption, average speed, drive range, outside temperature, atmospheric pressure, altitude and tire pressure, the system also has a built-in global positioning system so getting lost and folding out a huge paper map over the dashboard and steering wheel should now be a thing of the past.

As Mitsubishi Motors Philippines winds down the sales of the Montero Sport 3.2-liter variants this year to push the GTV 4x4 and GLS-V 4x2 to the top of its model lineup, we can safely say that these VGT-equipped variants will further strengthen the brand's hold in the affordable sport-utility-vehicle market. After all, the current range-topping 3.2-liter GLS SE 4x4 costs P1.720 million and yet its output is lower by 15hp and 7Nm. The 2.5-liter Montero Sport GTV is more powerful and it is more affordable as it costs P34,000 less than the 3.2-liter variant. With these figures, only someone who believes in the old-fashioned gearhead's adage that "there's no replacement for displacement" will pick the remaining stock of the 3.2-liter Montero Sport.

Photos from Mitsubishi Motors Philippines

SIGN UP FOR EXCLUSIVE AUTOMOTIVE UPDATES!
GET VIA
COMMENTS

User account login

Not registered? Click here to be a TopGear.com.ph member.

Forgot your Password?.

Click this link to view our posting guidelines.

Filter comments by:
  • jclogan Feb 23 2011 @ 10:19am
    The Toyota Fortuner's only advantage over the Montero Sport is now gone. With a DVD capable LCD player, more classy leather seat & a 5 speed AT transmission, there's really no reason to buy a Fortuner now.
  • rmra71 Feb 23 2011 @ 11:51am
    Hi there! I heard there was a product orientation yesterday on the new montero sport GTV 4x4, unfortunately no mention was made on when it will be sold on the market....would anyone know when the units will be released for selling?
  • carl96 Feb 23 2011 @ 07:19pm
    @jclogan---isama mo na diyan alterra... sino pa kaya papatol sa fortuner? toyota, you're left behind na....
  • RS500 Feb 23 2011 @ 10:37pm
    This over a Fortuner? Maybe some but to give you an example, my cousin would prefer the Fortuner over this one. He says, "Mas gusto ko porma nito kaysa sa MS...mas executive ang dating talaga". Well what would you expect from someone who doesn't really like the word "sport" or "sporty" attributed to his likes. Me? I have the same thoughts as the others, I do like this new Montero Sport. It was a nice move by Mitsu :)
  • Toby Feb 25 2011 @ 02:32am
    If I remember it correctly, the 3.2-liter variant of the Montero Sport, the GLS SE, has 163hp and 343Nm. I think the engine that you're referring to - the one that's lower by 41hp and 36Nm than the 2.5-liter VGT engine - is the non-VGT 2.5-liter engine, the one that's used in the GLX, GLS 4x2 and GLS 4x4 variants, which has 134hp and 314Nm. Therefore, when the GLS SE's 3.2-liter engine (163hp and 343Nm) is compared with the GTV's 2.5-liter VGT one (175hp and 350Nm), the GLS SE is only down by 12hp and 7Nm.
    Last modified Feb 25 2011 @ 02:49am
  • karutoyz Feb 25 2011 @ 10:39am
    for further inquiries you can contact me at 09224300073 or 09174688252. Sales Executive of Union Motors Caloocan. Thanks .:)
  • spiderpig2894 Feb 27 2011 @ 08:26pm
    ang toyota fortuner 3.0 V ay may VGT din
    VNT (Variable Nozzle Turbo) ang tawag
  • dominic Feb 27 2011 @ 09:23pm
    SF parin!
  • junjopz Feb 28 2011 @ 02:29am
    "there's no replacement for displacement"
    hope that mitsubishi will bring out the 3.2L with VGT and probably with 6 speed auto trans soon on the Montero and not on the Pajero only.
  • IMAS0609 Mar 01 2011 @ 11:39am
    I like both the Montero Sport and the Fortuner ... but for different reasons ... I also have issues with both ... personal taste will definitely play a big factor in anyones decision.

    For the Monty:
    I loved the ride, performance and exterior looks ... the2011 upgrades are great, however I was hoping that they already included aircon vents for the 2nd and 3rd row seats that were facing the passengers. I can also be better if they found a way to make the Monty wider ... you know so that one does not have to see the bulge of the rear wheels in the 3rd row.

    For the Fortuner:
    I love the elegant look/design and refined interior. I also found the Fortuner roomier (the last row can actually sit 3 modestly sized persons). Accordingly the aircon vents are well located now since in the older Fort versions also had the same problem as with the new Monty. However the ride (suspension) is still an issue and the 4x2 2.5 diesel engine is not that responsive.

    I just hope that whoever comes up with a new version of their vehicle would find a way to marry the good points of both SUVs. More power to Toyota, Mitsubishi and TOPGEAR.
  • evolution_sport Mar 01 2011 @ 03:31pm
    We just bought a Montero GTV 4X2 and it was a 4 speed automatic, and I discovered the top speed was only 120kph. Just an extra fact - 120 kph is the top speed of an I-Miev.
  • RS500 Mar 02 2011 @ 07:19pm
    120kph? That's not possible.
  • evolution_sport Mar 03 2011 @ 09:17pm
    correction - it's actually 150 though it's still sucks. My point is not to buy the 4x2 because the automatic gearbox has only 4 gears.
  • dominic Mar 04 2011 @ 03:41am
    Bagal! Turbo na yan?
  • Kyoichi Sudo Mar 05 2011 @ 01:08pm
    @evolution_sport why don,t you go back at the dealership where you bought the ms? or maybe there's something w/ your driving or maybe the one you bought is GLS not GLS-V. GTV's 4x2 unit is called GLS-V not GTV.
  • Kyoichi Sudo Mar 05 2011 @ 01:10pm
    don't*
  • expatio Mar 06 2011 @ 10:33pm
    Top gear (4th) in the 4-speed auto of the 4x2 GLS-V has the same ratio as top gear (5th) in the 5-speed auto of the 4x4 GT-V.
    So top speed should be around the same. The only difference could be from the 4x4 systems extra traction/torque to road surface.

    The 5-speed will get you to that top speed faster with the wider range of gearing.

    Why would you say you just purchased a GTV 4x2; and firstly state it only does 120kph. There is no such thing as a GTV 4x2.

    Why would anybody want to take an SUV beyond 150kph. Mitsubishi programs the ECU not to exceed this speed. If you feel you want to take it beyond this speed all you need is a plugin box. But if you have a minor problem/other motorist at say 170kph, the result could lead to your death or the death of others.

    I am not trying to be a killjoy. I have actually taken my old SL to 250kph, but only once and only briefly, after checking the road for cops first. There were no other cars and it was a car built for speed. It was not in The Philippines. In my normal everyday driving on the motorways; I would seldom go over 120kph.
  • fortis Mar 06 2011 @ 11:31pm
    With the launch of the new Montero GTV there's another reason for car thieves to be a lot happier these days. Tsk.. Tsk.. Tsk...
  • gundam Mar 07 2011 @ 11:24am
    Pwede mag 4x2 ang GTV pero 5 speed. Topspeed of 120kph...max probably in 3rd gear. hehehe. or maybe naka 4x4 low.
  • tgstig Mar 07 2011 @ 10:37pm
    ngak, fail wala namang 4x2 na gtv...
  • karutoyz Mar 17 2011 @ 09:00am
    meron pong 4x2 na gtv... and it's now available in union motors caloocan. pm me if interested. thanks...
  • cityxplorenet Mar 19 2011 @ 09:41am
    I own a glx and its top speed at SLEX is 170, pumapalo pa I agree with GUDAM bka 3rd year lang yung 120
  • dtkiko Mar 20 2011 @ 10:54am
    Jeeze, what's all this fuss about the so-called overrated Monterosport "GTV" all about?

    Alang binatbat yang GTV pala na 150 kph Monterosport sa 210 kph na 1.5-litre "MATAGAL ng may VGT" na Hyundai Accent ---- Pero, ni-isang NGAW-NGAW sa Hyundai tungkol sa VGT nila maging noon pa man wala kang maririnig na YABANG hindi gaya ng Mitsubishi na ngayon lang nagka-VGT ang ingay na sa propaganda haha!!!!

    Ngayon nga lang nagka-VGT yang Monterosport NAGKUKUMAHOG na mga Mitsu fanatics ahihi.... Animo'y akala mo Mitsubishi originator ng VGT sa diesel engines haha! This is yet another "OVERRATED" piece of crap that thrives purely on downright "PUBLICITY".... And fanaticos yet again got the FALSE SENSE of Mitsu's superiority, which is just actually nothing in reality ahihi....

    Tagal na kayang may VGT ang 1KD-FTV engine ng Toyota Prado, Fortuner at Hilux, Isuzu DMax iTEQ VGS at MU-7, mga Hyundai diesel cars, SUVs, at van (Hyundai Accent, at mga eVGT's na Starex, Santa Fe, Tucson), at sa Kia naman, ang Sorento na eVGT din.... Pero HINDI naman sila MAYAYABANG di tulad ng Mitsubishi....
    ....While ang Prado ay 172 ps at 420 Nm, ang mga Fortuner at Hilux ay naka-detune lang mga yan based on what Toyota designed them for, but they share the same 4-cylinder DOHC 16-valve 3-litre 1KD-FTV engine na NOONG YEAR 2000 PA MAY VGT NA ahihi....

    Indeed very OVERRATED yang Monterosport: Sa Hyundai Santa Fe (197 ps, 435 Nm torque) palang at Kia Sorento (190 ps, 435 Nm torque) mapapahiya na yang so-called GTV Monterosport (178 ps, 350 Nm) pfft!!!! Harhar!

    Ka-kailanganin pala ang VGT ng isang tao para sa Monterosport niya para ito'y makatakbo ng 150 kph sagad sa quinta (5th gear) haha! Napakaganda nga naman! Ahihi ahoho....Lavet!!!!
    Last modified Mar 20 2011 @ 11:04am
  • cityxplorenet Mar 22 2011 @ 08:35am
    @dtkiko. I admire your being genius about cars, lupet. Excellent points you had bro
  • jayrmae8 Mar 23 2011 @ 12:27am
    @> evolution_sport3-
    > montero?? lol its not the car but the driver. =) top speed of only 120kph? that is a very idiotic discovery of you on a brand new 2011 SUV lol..tsk tsk
  • shintoy117 Mar 24 2011 @ 10:43pm
    ok lang yung bagong montero.. in my own opinion, di mo naman yata kelangan sa highway magtakbo nga 170kph-200kph.. remember hindi racetrack yung highway.. :-)
  • dominic Mar 27 2011 @ 05:55pm
    @dtkiko sir, may balak ka bang palitan ung Accent mo ng bago? If dadating ung accent na diesel? May accent din kami eh. At may plan din kami palitan if ever. :-)
  • Oris F1 Mar 30 2011 @ 01:27pm
    @dtkiko-----yes you're right that the technology has been there for quite some time. The problem is not Mitsubishi highlighting VGT but rather the competition NOT doing so in the first place. Can you show us a single article about MMPC claiming that they were the first to introduce this?

    This is not called "mayabang" but the beauty and art of marketing strategy my friend. MMPC saw an opportunity to highlight a technology that has greatly improved the performance of their engines hence the marketing and promotion of the said technology, while the competition failed to see this.

    That is why you have the Montero Sport as the No. 1 selling mid sized SUV in the market today. It wouldnt be if not for thousands of satisfied and happy owners. The rest have not registered any phenomenal sales performance in the auto market. Just claims of being better than the others. Fortuner is the only one that really comes close to the Monty and in fact I even own one myself. These are the so-called cash cows of both Mitsu and Toyota and the competition have and will always look at these two companies soaring in their 2011 sales targets from the sidelines, wishing they had created a cash cow themselves.

    It seems you know a lot about cars...why dont you help the competition. It seems this is another year of fantastic sales for the Monty! And where will the competition be this time? It seems you're such an expert....go ahead. Make a bold 2011 prediction! then lets talk again at the end of this year.

    Good Luck! You'll need it...
    • warak1422 May 13 2012 @ 09:34pm
      natanggal ata sa MMPC yan...
  • junjopz Apr 02 2011 @ 05:20am
    @Oris F1 - 100% Agree with you!

    Loved my 3.2L Montero Sport! kahit walang VGT! powerful at mabilis pa rin! =))
  • LC80_pajeroCK Apr 03 2011 @ 08:50pm
    @dtkiko sir I admire your passion on korean cars. based on your opinion, mostly you compared japanese and korean cars on how greater they are than the longest running car developer & manufacture in asia. I bet you drive one. reading what you posted you still lack knowledge about about cars.
    • warak1422 May 13 2012 @ 09:36pm
      anti Mitsu lang yan...proud owner yan ng Isuzu D-Max at Chevrolet Trailblazer in the future,,,ahihihi
  • isuzur18 Apr 07 2011 @ 10:53am
    ok. i love isuzu alterra !
  • 17Sphynx17 Apr 14 2011 @ 10:34am
    With regards to the claim that the 4x2 VGT Montero is maxed out at 120kph, I can honestly say that is not true.

    Have driven it to 140kph and it still hasn't readlined but at around 4000rpm already.

    Honestly though, why would you need to go faster anyway.

    I still recommend maintaining driving speeds at 100-120kph though at highway to maintain efficiency at around 2000rpm though. It can hold it comfortably without much strain on the engine.

    Just sharing my experience.

    One thing I couldn't get an exact figure of is the fuel consumption. Hope someone could give me an idea so I could compare (City, highway and mixed).

    Drove it from Manila to Ilocos Norte full tank gone (almost 600km approx). Ilocos Norte to Subic, just half a tank (550km approx). Manila to Camarines Norte to Manila (350km each way total 700km) full tank empty for the trip.

    I know consumption for the vehicle usually evens out once you've reached 7500km mileage as most parts are already used to moving and being driven.
  • nicklettenikka Apr 15 2011 @ 02:17pm
    good day po dyan sa pinas.....looking for "Real" Sales executive for Mitsubishi Montero VGT or SE 4x4... or Ford Escape for the inquiry...thanks....
  • yokam888 Apr 16 2011 @ 02:57pm
    we cant really compare the montero sport vgt to the hyundai sta fe evgt, yung montero kasi is pang bundok talaga, kasi mounted yung body nya on a ladder frame chasis, kumbaga yan talaga ang parang genetic basis of what an off-roader should be. ang sta fe kasi is a crossover vehicle, having a monocoque body (like sedans) di talaga sya pang off-road. mas mabilis talaga ang sta fe sa pavement pero pagdating sa bundok, di talaga ito lalamang sa montero or kahit sa fortuner man lang.
  • wheelie Apr 18 2011 @ 10:45am
    120kph max speed? 2.5 gvt? poser?

    drove our gls-v 4x2 MS in de venecia highway in dagupan city @160 kph and there was no strain or whatsoever in the engine, if we had a clearer path that time, i think we could push it to 170 or even 180..

    oh and somebody's been drinking the haterade around here..
  • macmaba Apr 18 2011 @ 11:19am
    Mitsubishi is really great when it comes to marketing, Althought VGT has been in the Philippines for quite sometime now, the introduction of this tech to the MS and Strada was really in good timing.

    If at present we see three MS for every 1 Fortuner or one SF on the road (I really don't see the point comparing the SF to MS ??? but since many have been comparing them then let's compare for numbers sake ehehehe) there's a chance that ratio will increase (unless Toyota introduces a new Fortuner).

    I say this 'coz I'm seeing a lot of GTV's now on the road :)

    The balance of urban tech and off-road tech in the MS is impeccable ;)

    Kudos to Mitsubishi for this :)

    My only comment.......... I'm not a fan of the honeycomb grill :P
  • wenski Apr 25 2011 @ 06:37pm
    Hyundai Sta Fe nalang ako all in and very efficient
  • wenski Apr 25 2011 @ 06:54pm
    most of these so called SUV's are not even used for off-road purposes. yung iba ng takot pa gamitin sa konting baha sa metro.
    bakit di nalang kaya i-test ng top gear yan mga yan ng sabayan para magkaalaman talaga.
  • RS500 Apr 30 2011 @ 10:57pm
    Naka-disappoint ung interior ng Montero Sport. Parang bumili lang sila ng GPS device tas inilagay sa units nila. Nainis ako dun sa nakalitaw ng GPS antenna. Di man lang pinagisipan na itago un para hindi mukhang cheap ang dating. Ok na sana engine upgrade and exterior.
  • adgarcia May 03 2011 @ 08:30pm
    I like this one than the Fortuner, Because, this one has a navigation system, like an iDrive on most BMWs, but Fortuner has not and they have the same fuel pero ang Fortuner, madali siyang mag roll-over pagka umuulan (Seen in most expressways).
  • Kyoichi Sudo May 05 2011 @ 08:23am
    @dtkiko, mas ok na ang 2.5L vgt na may 178ps kaysa 2.5L vgt na 102PS LANG!!! i won't post the name of that particular SUV but my clue is it used to be Montero's Arch-enemy
    • dhryfusc Nov 29 2011 @ 11:13am
      Gusto mo pala ung nakakamatay na toro at umusok ang ilong dahil smoke belcher. Bakit nag mamakaawa sila na tanggalin ang monteroaccident.com.
  • mts May 09 2011 @ 09:05pm
    @Kyoichi Sudo: Well, so much for not naming that particular SUV :))
  • ev9402 May 10 2011 @ 09:36am
    @macmaba Probably the reason why you are seeing 3 MS, 1 Fort and 1SF on the road is because most 2005-2006 Fortuner buyers after completing 4-5yrs model life of their Fort, replaced their vehicles w/ the montero. but if you look at total overall sales ever since the Fortuner was introduced, the Montero hasn't surpassed total Fortuner sales yet. Actually sales of Fortuner remained fairly stable and didn't declined drastically because of Montero. MS was just at the right timing when the market for SUV greatly boomed.
    • macmaba May 11 2011 @ 03:49pm
      Thanks for this ev9402 :) Yep you are correct, the Fortuner really did ABSOLUTELY GREAT in sales and MAYBE MS will be able to surpass the numbers in the future ;)
  • ev9402 May 10 2011 @ 09:43am
    @adgarcia I beg to differ. The ride of Fortuner is very stable and you feel planted to the ground without much swaying during fast turns. I think that's the reason why it's ride is very firm (matagtag) due to stability reasons. On the otherhand, you can feel a lot of body sway with the Montero due to softer suspension which tends to fishtail more. Stable but harsh ride=Fortuner, Body sway but soft ride=Montero.
    • nielclark Mar 27 2012 @ 12:01am
      I agree, there is a consequence in what the manufacturer decides as suitable in their design. I'd choose the Fortuner's hard ride because it is really stable at high speeds, specially at 180 kph in Star Tollway.
  • truckman May 16 2011 @ 10:48pm
    ask ko lng yung mga owner ng Montero sport GLS V na ok lng b yung fuel consumption nito and may i know yung actual result sa fuel consumption.. thank you
  • queens May 26 2011 @ 07:59pm
    @evolution_sports..WALA PONG GTV 4X2..it's GLS-V po.
  • queens May 26 2011 @ 08:16pm
    The problem now is we have to wait until June or July for the GTV..nagka ubusan ng unit..silver na lang available but we want black.
  • rushhour Jun 03 2011 @ 06:06pm
    i just wish there is a 3.0 v6 gasoline engine....
  • rmra71 Jun 23 2011 @ 10:39am
    Hi there! I bought my montero sport GTV last April 2011 and boy was I excited to drive it around. However i have noticed that the drive range and the altitude doesnt seem to work properly at all. nnIt has been quite frustrating since I have been sending it back and forth to our local dealer where I bought it but until now it still doesnt function properly. The drive range is still always NOT reading and even if we go to high altitude places, it still reads 0.nnCan anyone help me with this?
    • katsikot May 16 2012 @ 02:52pm
      Have you tried resetting the whole system to factory settings?
  • mitsubishi Jul 15 2011 @ 06:08pm
    Montero GTV will be available on September 2011
    775-9540
    0916-672-6550
    Last modified Jul 15 2011 @ 06:10pm
  • spiderpig2894 Jul 15 2011 @ 10:25pm
    @Kyoichi - hndi kaya VGT ang engine na cnasabi mong SUV na 102ps lng.
    • katsikot Oct 13 2011 @ 02:38pm
      130 ps yung non-vgt 2.5 4D56 na engine ng montero sport. 102 ps lang yung 2.5 non-vgt turbo na fortuner.
      • warak1422 May 13 2012 @ 09:41pm
        tama at same engine ng Hi-Ace Commuter
        • katsikot May 16 2012 @ 02:50pm
          Yep. Here's the thing, walang intercooler kasi yung 2.5 D4D, pero kung lagyan man, nasa 10-13 hp lang idadagdag nyan. Pero to be honest it's still underpowered. In other markets yung Hi-ace commuter naka 3.0 (1kd-ftv), pero yung power nun, despite being a 3 litre and equipped with a VGT (with intercooler), in its best tune, eeks out 170 hp and 353 Nm of torque. The 4D56 VGT in the montero and strada makes 178 HP and 400 Nm of torque in its best tune (350 nm on the 'matics) despite the fact that it's 500 cc smaller. Pero yung hyundai re-vgt nasa 190 something hp, pero 2.2 lang. Audi's 2.0 TDI, 200 something hp pero 2.0 lang. Germans are the best when it comes to diesel engines.
  • pmmaer2006 Aug 06 2011 @ 12:50pm
    @spiderpig2894: its the 4x2 2.5DSL Fortuner ung 102ps lang..
  • outdoormaster Aug 26 2011 @ 09:43pm
    is this the better SUV to buy right now?
  • Regstmbg Sep 06 2011 @ 12:45pm
    (Your thoughts on the article...)
  • Regstmbg Sep 06 2011 @ 12:47pm
    Monty is good with its look and power BUT before buying, we better read the monteroaccident blog then decide.
    • katsikot Oct 13 2011 @ 02:39pm
      I think smear campaign lang yung monteroaccident blog. I beg to disagree with its factual validity.
    • dhryfusc Nov 29 2011 @ 11:20am
      Sino ba namang tao na bibili ng sasakyan tapos mababangga lng dahil sa sudden acceleration problem. Higit sa lahat with pictures pa nakalagay at super raming pose na montero. Di ka ba nababahala don.
    • katsikot May 16 2012 @ 02:50pm
      That site was nothing but a smear campaign.
  • jaejae Nov 04 2011 @ 07:52am
    one word on Montero's success is VERSATILITY...
  • mgr366 Nov 04 2011 @ 07:02pm
    hahaha baka yun nagtatag ng MSCP ang tinutukoy ni dtkiko... Montero Sport Club of the Philippines... Mayabang na Samahan ng mga Clowns sa Pilipinas... =)
  • jaejae Nov 05 2011 @ 08:31am
    mgr366... that's not fair sir... we are all educated people here... if you were one of the members, will you be happy to be branded as "mayabang" and "clown"?
    yes, i am a MSCP Member sir... and I can assure you people in MSCP are far from "mayabang"
    relax lang po sana tayo...
  • mgr366 Nov 05 2011 @ 09:08pm
    @jaejae =) relax lang po ako. bato bato sa langit ang tamaan, huwag magalit hehehe. i heard from a friend at may pinabasa sya sa akin. pa-training o seminar nyo yun admin parang robot makitungo sa mga would be members. tiyak, pag nagpamember si dtkiko kc may montero din sya, naku kung paano nya idescribe yun montero sport eh baka x100 times nya lait laitin yun admin hahaha.
  • jaejae Nov 06 2011 @ 08:09am
    mgr366... it's a process kasi sir to be a member, and that very process is designed with the safety of the members in mind... you will be glad of that system when you are on the other side of the fence already...

    dtkiko? come on, man...do you really take him seriously? hehehe
  • mgr366 Nov 08 2011 @ 03:47pm
    @jaejae, security and process is a given already and need not be an issue. what my friend was reacting is failure of the admin to take on constructive critisism. yun lang naman. at dtkiko naman, everyone is open and welcome to their own opinion. its a free country hehehe
  • jaejae Nov 09 2011 @ 08:31am
    mgr366...oh ok, i'm out of it na sir, it's between them both pala....

    syempre naman sir, welcome talaga each opinion, as long as di lang masakit sa mata ang delivery ng opinion... yung hindi naman sana bastos ang pagkasabi diba...
  • mgr366 Nov 09 2011 @ 09:22am
    @jaejae... i agree. everyone... lapit na pasko... peace at sana maging merry... =)
  • davenberg Nov 15 2011 @ 07:55pm
    Mga Sir, Merry Christmas po sa inyong lahat, First time po dito sa makabuluhang usapan nyo....Reading about your conversation realy quite enough to decide which is the better one. Montero's as first choice (without mentioning other makers). I appreciate who can give an issue about GLS-V 4X2 MY12, as a latest model of Montero. I've noticed that most of the topic circulates about Monty MY11. Do you have some issue on it, so for sure, it will be one of my guidance to finalize dealing with the latest one….
  • davenberg Nov 15 2011 @ 07:59pm
    Guys, regarding the spoiler for GLS-V 4X2 MY12? is it available in this model? I did't see any...confused!!!
  • mgr366 Nov 17 2011 @ 02:16pm
    @davenberg, punta ka na lang sa winterpine. mas ok ang spoiler ng 2010 versus yun 2011 and higher. para sa akin mas ok yun body color na 2010. at kung 2011 ang nakuha mo na montero, mas ok din na dito ka kumuha ng back camera. mas fit at stylish yung itsura kaysa sa ibang back camera na available.
  • davenberg Nov 17 2011 @ 02:56pm
    mgr366.
    good day po sa iyo. maraming salamat to your response., sam po yang winterpine? pasensya na di po talaga ako gala dyan sa atin...Well, gemstone gray mica ang kulay ng Montero 2012, it means fit pa rin ba yun sinasabi mo Sir? How about the cost of spoiler ang camera as well, affordable kaya to sa budget ko po hehehe.God Bless po sa iyo.
  • davenberg Nov 17 2011 @ 02:58pm
    and camera, pangit ng i read.....faded out
  • aronakis Nov 18 2011 @ 04:11am
    amazingggggggggggggggggg!!!!!
  • dhryfusc Nov 29 2011 @ 10:54am
    Advantage of montero to all suv. Mausok ang tambutso, how many years from now, paborito ng lto dahil smoke belcher. Second, mukhang hito( catfish). Lastly, nakakamatay dahil sa sudden acceleration problem, pinasara nga ang web na monteroaccident.com. Luv it montero
    • nielclark Mar 27 2012 @ 12:17am
      Yun yun eh, sarcastic na may spice ng hatred. May nagawa bang masama nag mitsubishi sayo? Ang tindi! NICE!!! hehehehe!
  • dhryfusc Nov 29 2011 @ 11:23am
    Ano ngaun masabi sa engine ng toyota with intercooler na may 144 hp. Ung walang intercooler may 102 hp na. Papano kung walang intercooler ang montero, malamang 80 hp lng.
    • nielclark Mar 27 2012 @ 12:19am
      Tama ka diyan. Parang may trick lang na ginawa sa turbo pero kung core engine power lang ay lamang na talaga ang toyota at pangmatagalan pa.
  • JVB111 Dec 03 2011 @ 12:07pm
    Hello and Good day!!
    I just want to share my experience with the Montero Sport GTV 2012 model which I bought last November 15, 2011 in FAST AUTOWORLD CORP. located in Mandaue City. I chose the TOP of the line MONTERO SPORT GTV which is RICH in features compared to the NEW Toyota Fortuner which is his rival in the line. The new montero sport gtv has a back up camera, limited slip differential, GPS, and a tire pressure monitor. Which made me decide to get the montero GTV instead of the Good looking Fortuner.

    After a week i Went to Dumaguete and to take it for a spin for my break in. And i am surprisingly Amazed because of the great power it gave me when i stepped on the pedal. It doesnt give you any turbo lag. It really gives you power and acceleration when you want it. It has the new VGT which is the Variable Geometry Turbo. No issues about the power i am really satisfied about it.

    But there are just things that i wanna share to the bad experiences i had with my 3WEEKS old Montero Sport GTV:
    1) while i was on the way to dumaguete i noticed the audio wasnt good to hear. I noticed that the front speaker(passenger) is not working.
    2) the compass gives me the wrong direction it is not well calibrated
    3) after 2 weeks the Back up camera is not working. Just shows a blank screen. I really thought this was nice becaUse of the features that the fortuner didnt have which is this. But unfortunately this suddenly shows up.
    4) my passenger power window wont close. After i opened it to buy water on the street it wont close.

    That's all folks. I just wanna share to the future buyers of the new montero. It is not to discourage you but to let you be aware. But never the less, it really gives you good acceleration but the rich features which is its edge over the TOYOTA FORTUNER is gonna make you think to sell your montero and buy a FORTUNER.

    Thanks and i wanna hear what you think
    • nielclark Mar 27 2012 @ 12:11am
      We need this kind of comments. Balanced, relax and true. Nice! You are fair. Well with Toyota, they never compromise with the quality of their parts and accessories. In their dealership, it is listed as an additional accessories so you can select what gadgets would like to have installed in your Fortuner.
  • dhryfusc Dec 03 2011 @ 10:13pm
    Yan na nga nadala sa mga abubot na accessories na promo ng montero, bale maskara yan nila. Sa totoo wala akong tiwala kasi nga sa mga gawa nilang lemon car. Di nyo ba napansin na walang labasan ng aircon sa 2nd row kasi dito nila tinambak ang mga never mabenta na montero sa ibang bansa.
    • davenberg Dec 03 2011 @ 11:06pm
      I think I have good choice for now....almost a month I am considered the car X but only on last week, it's all gone in a row. Yes Car XX is really a good chioce. did you hear about the sudden accellaration issue? I am really aware on that. Here in the country X, subject car can find in the road in the ratio of 1000:1 (car x as 1) or less, I have no idea -why? Dear Forumer: What is the standard or average insurance for the SUV like Car X, XX in cash basis payment? Thank you and Go Bless.
  • dhryfusc Feb 10 2012 @ 04:02pm
    concern lang po....... to all montero owner..... kindly watch in you tube just type " untv manibela montero sudden acceleration" may nagsampa na ng kaso against mitsubishi.....
    • kokoykokoy Jun 24 2012 @ 11:47am
      have you watch Fernan Lao's investigation regarding the sudden acceleration thingy?
  • SAS77 Mar 27 2012 @ 08:36am
    @JVB111 If your GTV is just 3 months old then it still is under warranty. I find it strange though that you have those problems and yet MY GTV doesn't have any of those problems at 7 months old.
  • SAS77 Mar 27 2012 @ 08:45am
    @dhryfusc: All your testimonies are hearsay. Where's the solid evidence? All you have are pictures of accidents of montero sports but they're not proof of that "Sudden Acceleration thing". Who ever started that issue is just some proud guy who wanted a loophole to cover his ass.

    And for that "mausok" thing of yours, My GTV can go 8-10km/li in CITY conditions while your Fortuner can only go 6-8km/li. Why do I know? Coz I used to own a fortuner, yeah the one with the crappy suspension. Get your facts straight before posting.
  • davenberg Mar 27 2012 @ 12:42pm
    Good morning to all....Good and Negative comments are all welcome.
    Cons:
    1. Ford Everest 2012 LTD AT 4x2 - (Spacious) 80 days old., 9.2 km/L
    2. Furtuner 2012 AT 4X2
    3. Montero 2012 AT 4X2
  • todsip Jul 20 2012 @ 11:43pm
    my friend and guys...MONTERO SPORT VGT ...laos na yan kasi sa ford car's everest or ranger...2007 pa lang already loaded with VGT...late na masyado ang mitsubishi...hehehhe....
  • edrian1011 Jul 22 2012 @ 03:58pm
    meron na raw ng V6 MIVEC na Montero. Nakita ko sa advertisement ng Mitsubishi sa Manila Bulletin
  • Kim John Aug 02 2012 @ 04:37pm
    sarap talaga sakyan ng montero sport gtv at mabilis pa. pero after 2 weeks hindi na nagfucntion ang camera. ang gps hindi tama ang information kapag pumunta kami sa probinsya namin.
  • crispinbasilio86 Nov 10 2012 @ 05:05am
    Disadvantage of VGT
    Cost and Reliability:
    VGTs are very complex and require complicated control systems. The small moving parts, sensors, and controllers make them more expensive to produce than FGT (Fix Geometry Turbo). All the parts are exposed to extreme temperatures of over 1000oF making them wear quickly. Also due to the extreme temperatures they need to be made from exotic materials which increase the cost
    even more.

    Brand new ng Turbocharger (Non VGT ) ng isang sikat na SUV it cost about 118,000 pesos. Magkano ang presyo ng T/C ng montero with VGT? It requires good maintenance of Turbocharger with VGT. Matangal lang isang pirasong movable vane suerte na lang hindi masira ang blades sa blower side. Pero sigurado ako ipapagawa mo ang T/C o kayay bibili ka ng bago o second hand.
    • Semipanotchi Nov 10 2012 @ 07:08pm
      FYI di lang po ang montero ang may VGT sir.. Yung fortuner pati santa fe meron din, just to let you know.
      • crispinbasilio86 Nov 17 2012 @ 08:42am
        TY Sir . Tama ka iba lang ang term nila like VNT, VET pareho lang ang basic principles. Lahat sila mayroon except yung fortuner 2.5 lang wala. Latest 2013 Fortuner 2.5 mayroon na.
        One more thing, ang alam ko casa hindi nagbebenta ng repair kit for T/C. You need to buy brand new complete assembly T/C from them. Madaling overhaulin ang Non Variable hindi komplitado kaysa may Variable.

  • andrew_7187 Nov 11 2012 @ 09:55pm
    ano po fuel consumption???
  • cocoloy Nov 18 2012 @ 05:03pm
    For me...Montero sport GTV 4x4 A/T one of the best SUV ever... , very powerful ....
Filter comments by:
1 to 20 of 83