Review: Mitsubishi Mirage GLS MT

By Niky Tamayo
 

Mitsubishi Mirage
The Mitsubishi Mirage has taken the market by storm, and it's not hard to see why. As pointed out in our Budget Issue, the base Mirage is a lot of car for under P500,000. But is there any reason for buyers to pay an extra P90,000 for the higher-end GLS variant? Let's find out.

Mitsubishi Mirage

Mitsubishi Mirage

STYLING

The Mirage isn't the most stylish supermini out there, but it is a handsome little thing when dressed up like this. While it looks slightly dumpy on the small, hubcapped wheels on the GLX, the larger 15-inch alloy wheels on this variant make it look tighter and sportier. The swept-back rear spoiler complements the body lines well and is more aerodynamic than the optional spoiler for the base variant. This helps the GLS achieve a lower coefficient of drag, around 0.29 or thereabouts. Other accessories like the chrome garnishes and window visors are optional, but the car looks good with or without them.

Mitsubishi Mirage

INTERIOR

The top-end Mirage interior is wash-and-wear functional, but the snazzier seats and integrated middle-passenger shoulder belt in the rear lend it a more upscale feel than the base variant. Power windows all around and more comprehensive driver controls also signify a big step up versus the poverty-spec Mirage. While not as tall as other superminis, the class-leading wheelbase and legroom give the Mirage a more comfortable and relaxed seating position than any other car in this class.

The trunk is likewise best-in-class at 245L. That may not sound like much, but nothing else in this price range comes close.

Mitsubishi Mirage

ENGINE PERFORMANCE

The Mirage's three-cylinder MIVEC motor doesn't make as much power as some of the competition, but the car's light weight and exceptional aerodynamics more than make up for this. These allow the Mirage to hit 24-26km/L on the highway. Even at 100kph or more, economy is still well over 18km/L. In traffic, 12km/L is possible; as the Mirage is light, you can start off in second gear. The shift mechanism on our manual test unit is light and sweet, if a bit vague. The motor revs willingly and sounds great, and secondary cam lobes on the intake side kick in at 4,500rpm to give it a little extra overtaking punch.

RIDE AND HANDLING

In our Big Test comparo featuring the Mirage GLX, we noted a soft suspension and excessive body roll. The GLS's standard antiroll bar and meatier 175/55 R15 Bridgestone Potenza tires increase the Mirage's handling envelope considerably. It's still soft compared to the likes of the athletic Hyundai i10, but the light and sweet steering lends the Mirage a sparklingly playful character. It's quiet at speed, and the low roof makes it less sensitive to crosswinds than other superminis. And as the Mirage is still a very small car, it is ridiculously easy to thread through traffic and park in tight spaces.

Mitsubishi Mirage

EXTRA FEATURES

Keyless entry, central locking and a push-button starter are all major upgrades from the basic Mirage. Also present are an AVT-sourced nav-equipped touchscreen and a full six speakers versus the two in the GLX. More important, the Mirage GLS gets twin airbags and ABS. The availability of ABS gives the Mirage stronger and more confident braking performance than any of its main competitors--especially in the wet. Even better, the Mirage is the only supermini on the market with a proven five-star crash performance. There are bigger cars that aren't anywhere near this safe.


THE VERDICT

The added P90,000 represents a huge price premium over the Mirage GLX, but the high level of equipment, cosmetic enhancements, as well as safety and chassis upgrades are a convincing argument in favor of the GLS. Nothing in this class is remotely as well-loaded or practical at this price. Of course, one class up is the Kia Rio 1.2 MT, whichcosts a mere P10,000 more. That's a bigger, more refined and more powerful car. But it is bare as bare can be, and lacks ABS. For the single person or young couple on a budget, the Mirage is still the sweetest deal in town.

SPECS: MITSUBISHI MIRAGE GLS MT

Engine: 1.2-liter 3A92 DOHC MIVEC (intake side only) gasoline

Transmission: 5-speed manual

Power: 77hp @ 6,000rpm

Torque: 100Nm @ 4,000rpm

Drive layout: FWD

Seating: 5

Price: P588,000

Score: 18/20

SIGN UP FOR EXCLUSIVE AUTOMOTIVE UPDATES!
GET VIA
COMMENTS

User account login

Not registered? Click here to be a TopGear.com.ph member.

Forgot your Password?.

Click this link to view our posting guidelines.

Filter comments by:
  • Kyoichi Sudo Mar 20 2013 @ 07:06pm
    handsome chic :)))
  • FanBoy Mar 20 2013 @ 08:16pm
    Torn between Mirage, Fiesta and Accent hatch. :|
    • Kyoichi Sudo Mar 21 2013 @ 12:29pm
      Remove the Fiesta, unless you don't care about fuel consumption. If cargo space is a must, get the Accent Hatch. If you want sportiness and funkiness in one vehicle, the Mirage will most likely suit your needs...
      • FanBoy Mar 21 2013 @ 03:12pm
        Sorry, but I care for the much better looking Fiesta. What I like bout the mirage is the FC.
        • Romeo Alfa Mar 21 2013 @ 03:55pm
          Mirage - cute, fuel efficient, for city use.
          Accent - sporty, cheap running cost, big space.
          Fiesta - sporty, agile, FC= 11 to 17 kpl, looks good, and its a FORD! lol.
  • eydijey Mar 20 2013 @ 08:19pm
    winner here!
  • mravillegas Mar 20 2013 @ 08:29pm
    Great review. But i have a question.. Do you think this can go up antipolo without problems?
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Mar 20 2013 @ 09:32pm
      If an 85 horsepower 1,600 kilogram Crosswind can do it, a 77 horsepower, 850 kilogram Mirage can. This car is nowhere near underpowered. It's only past 120-140 kmh that it starts feeling appreciably slow.
    • warak1422 Mar 20 2013 @ 10:07pm
      kaya nga ng multicab with 35hp lang hehe
      • Kyoichi Sudo Mar 21 2013 @ 12:30pm
        funny but true hehehe...
  • one.edchelle Mar 20 2013 @ 08:39pm
    winner! i love Mirage...
  • warak1422 Mar 20 2013 @ 10:06pm
    pwede to...
  • rdjl_13 Mar 20 2013 @ 11:09pm
    "Even better, the Mirage is the only supermini on the market with a proven five-star crash performance. There are bigger cars that aren't anywhere near this safe." I think the "five-star crash performance" is given because it is compared to other cars similar to the Mirage's class. I don't think the Mirage (or the driver) will survive on a head-on collision to midsize SUVs or even compact and midsize cars. Anyway, this car is really a bang-for-the-buck to those who are in a tight budget. :D
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Mar 20 2013 @ 11:29pm
      NCAP crash scores are not class-normalized. They are based on impact protection and shock measurements on dummies when the car is crashed against a deformable concrete barrier. In other words, five-star Mirage against a concrete wall at 65 km/h, you live. Two or three star pick-up truck against a concrete wall at 65 km/h, you might die, or you could get lucky and all you'll get is broken legs.
  • yokam888 Mar 20 2013 @ 11:44pm
    i've been itching to buy this car ever since i saw an actual unit on display in one of mitsu's showrooms, hesitant lang talaga ako kasi the unit is still fairly new, i've been lurking in other car forums to see if major problems are starting to show (particularly sa 3 cyl engine). so far wala pa naman. but i think i would still wait til 2014 just to be really sure :)
    • JTV360 Mar 21 2013 @ 02:07am
      My good friend's brother bought this variant. It has logged 4K km so far and wala pa rin silang complaints. It seems na ok nga ang quality nitong Mirage.
  • rolandlr Mar 21 2013 @ 03:30am
    Hi Niky, do you have a review for 2013 dodge charger and how is post sales service in Manila? Cheers..
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Mar 21 2013 @ 12:00pm
      None yet. The 300C, based on the same platform, is very nice. Chrysler&Co have stepped up their game in terms of interior materials and refinement, and the ride is actually pretty good now. Don't know if these changes carry over to the Charger, but the choice between the two will probably come down to aesthetic taste. Post sales, can't comment. Only people I know who have work done at CATS are Merc owners, and obviously service and parts for Mercs are expensive.
  • codenamejanrei Mar 21 2013 @ 04:53am
    I will choose this or the Rio, rather than buying Spark or Swift.. :)
  • TingMatic Mar 21 2013 @ 07:35am
    It's as good as it gets! A very ideal gift for a graduating senior before entering the labor market
  • BluRobbie Mar 21 2013 @ 08:28am


    Guys,
    You check out the forum website of Mirage Pilipinas below for your inquiries from club members.
    Also search its FB fan page.

    http://www.miragepilipinas.com/

    Thanks,
  • GotToRead Mar 21 2013 @ 09:43am
    A good a college car, ain't the prettiest but you can save a lot of money, well the accent hatch is still a competition though.
  • Evo Lance Mar 21 2013 @ 11:24am
    Yes true GLS MT. Actually I was able to get 27.1km/l 4 passengers, 1 kid (including driver) pero kalahati ng route downhill tagataty to santa rosa. No problems going up hill 50kph uphill kayang kaya. Plus features sa GLS is EBD, speed sensing wipers, auto climate control, fog lamps, demister. SUPER sulit ng 90k ko!
  • lord_cykb24 Mar 21 2013 @ 11:43am
    not achieved it yet the 20 figures but I'm still happy with my Majestic.....
    • Kyoichi Sudo Mar 21 2013 @ 12:36pm
      Matic Mirage mo bro dba? Mas achievable kasi ng manual ang mga figures said above kesa sa matic pero may isa akong friend sa college na nka-Mirage GLS AT, nakaka-24km/l in highways w/ 5 passengers at 12-13km/l sa city w/ same # of passengers. 16-18km/l daw combined cycle ng Mirage nya...
      • lord_cykb24 Mar 21 2013 @ 01:45pm
        yap AT sa akin, so far hindi ko pa sya na-break in malayo. Last ko na highway na 22kms is 18.5 km/l according sa odo reading, 4 passengers, with level1 AC 25 with speed of 60-80 km/h. Sa city naman pag AC i do averaged 10 km/l with AC on, while 14 km/l if off. I did whatever fuel efficient driving tips I've read in some OL articles. But my fellow members at MPh did achieved those figures, some were more than the, usually the MT's
        • jtl888 Mar 21 2013 @ 08:19pm
          question po, how much yung pa-PMS mo @lord_cykb24? TIA
  • Kyoichi Sudo Mar 21 2013 @ 12:40pm
    Basta guys, if you need more info and opinions about experiences in the Mirage, you can always visit the official website of Mirage Pilipinas(MPH), http://www.miragepilipinas.com
  • The Stig Mar 21 2013 @ 07:01pm
    Baby James: What's siksik mama?
    Kris: Mirage baby.

    LOL
    • DePendot Mar 22 2013 @ 11:06am
      hahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

      cont..
      Kriss: Tingnan mo naman katabi ko, tulo laway pa.
      Baby James: Huy!
  • j6lskater Mar 22 2013 @ 08:39pm
    I've got the blue mica. drive is all good. Power is good enough, fastest I drove on this is at 175Kph on SCTEX, handling is fine, plus lots of nice features on a cheapest deal. GPS-Touch/DVD/PushStartButton/DualAirbags/ ABS-EBD, and legroom is better than our Fiesta Trend.. So get this car for city drive and quick out of towns.
    • Kyoichi Sudo Mar 23 2013 @ 09:01am
      Sir you may wanna join our group, Mirage Pilipinas. We're a group of people who are owners and enthusiasts of the Mitsubishi Mirage...


      http://www.miragepilipinas.com

      ;)
    • j6lskater Mar 23 2013 @ 10:36am
      joining now. :) i'm too lazy to post btw.. haha
  • chongky Mar 22 2013 @ 09:02pm
    love these small cars but not so nice to drive them in philippines since small cars egst bullies by other bigger cars and even pedestrians (some how even the people think that they wont get hurt much by small cars, duh???), so one must be more patient in driving these small cars in Philippines.
  • 16bab16 Mar 24 2013 @ 08:02pm
    Here in phils. uso ang bullying. With this kind of car mabubully to sa daan. We all know naman may ibang driver walang pakialam sa daan basta makauna lang kahit may madadamay. This kind of car design for city only dahil di gaano kabilisan ang takbo but sa expressway or national road malamang mabubully. May recommendation is lagyan ng malakas na busina like sa barko para mapapansin especially sa blind curve kasi may kasalubong ka na minsan na ninanakaw na ang linya mo. Katulad ng ginawa ng ng pinsan ko sa minica nila, pag busina niya sa blind curve nagtabihan ang mga sasakyan kasi akala nila trailer ang masalubong. Isa pa may mga driver na malabo ang mata baka masagi dahil sa kaliitan.
  • noy gelo Apr 08 2013 @ 12:05pm
    Defective Mirage recalled
    By Paolo G. Montecillo
    Philippine Daily Inquirer 4:47 am | Saturday, April 6th, 2013 7 139 83


    A POP green, a red metallic and a cerulean blue Mirage ready for test drive at Bira, Thailand.

    MANILA, Philippines—Mitsubishi Motors Philippines Corp. (MMPC) has ordered the recall of over a thousand units of its new Mirage subcompact car sold in the Philippines due to safety issues.

    The recall comes a day after the Mirage, which was staged a comeback late last year, won the prestigious Car of the Year award from the Car Awards Group Inc.

    In a statement, MMPC said it had notified the Department of Trade and Industry of its safety recall of the Mitsubishi Mirage GLS models equipped with antilock brake system (ABS) both for manual and automatic transmission variants.

    “The purpose of this safety recall is to replace the front wheel speed sensors. These sensors were found to have insufficient waterproofing if penetrated by water from rain and/or during car wash may cause the ABS system not to function correctly,” MMPC said.

    The replacement procedure of the deficient part will take about an hour and will be free of charge. Coverage of this safety recall are units sold between November 2012 to March 2013.

    “Although there has been no reported accident as a consequence of this problem, MMPC was directed by its principal, Mitsubishi Motors Corp. Japan to voluntarily conduct this safety recall as its proactive commitment to quality and consumer safety,” the company said.

    MMPC said it would announce the Vehicle Identification Numbers (VIN) of the 1,420 units of Mirage vehicles affected by the recall. The numbers will be posted on the firm’s website http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.ph. Customers may enter their VIN in the website to check if their unit is included in the recall. In addition to this, all affected customers will be notified in writing by registered mail.

    COTY????....Oh no!
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Apr 25 2013 @ 11:06pm
      Recalls have no effect on COTY.

      Many of the past winners are subject to safety recalls. The Cruze and Civic have been subject to safety recalls. The Accord has had mechanical recalls, too. In fact, it is nearly impossible to find any car on the market that has not been the subject of a recall or a technical service bulletin (which is like a recall, but is not major enough to necessitate a public announcement).
  • rolandmirage74 1 month ago
    Comical look,good thing i didnt buy this car, everytime i see one on the street, i cant help but laugh,piece of crap
Filter comments by:
1 to 20 of 22