Review: Mitsubishi Montero Sport GLS-V AT

By Niky Tamayo
 

Mitsubishi Montero Sport

The Mitsubishi Montero Sporthas been a best-seller for Mitsubishi for a dog's age. But is that because it has had no competition? With the advent of the upgraded Toyota Fortunerand the new Chevrolet Trailblazer, as well as the looming threat of an all-new, all-bigger Everest, let's take a look back at what makes the Montero Sport such a winning formula with the buyers, and see if it has what it takes to stay on top.

Mitsubishi Montero Sport - Styling

STYLING

The Montero Sport's styling was conservatively handsome when it was launched, and that still continues today. Familiar family cues link it to the Pajeroand hardcore off-road Mitsubishis of years past, but the Olivier Boulay-style noseis noticeably out of step with the current Mitsubishi car lineup. There's nothing particularly wrong with the cosmetic package, but it certainly lacks a little machismo compared to its competitors. Then again, the inoffensive looks hint at it being more of a family car than most. But looks can be deceiving.

Mitsubishi Montero Sport - Interior

INTERIOR

The Montero Sport's interior has all the familiar things in all the familiar places. Cabin quality is decent, but some of the plastics feel cheap, especially the large panel over the passenger airbag. But this truck's age really shows in the ergonomics. There's a sense of sitting on top of the driver's seat rather than in it.

The wheel wells pinch the second row in, and the third row is too low to the floor for most adults. Still, even the Montero Sport's newest competitors have their ergonomic compromises, and this Mitsubishi's generous legroom makes up for these minor sins.

Mitsubishi Montero Sport - Interior

ENGINE PERFORMANCE

The 2.5-liter 4D56T may share its basic architecture with the L300's prehistoric 4D56, but they couldn't be more different. It pulls strongly from off-idle, but then the variable geometry turbocharger switches into high gear at 1,500rpm, and it rockets forward, pulling hard to the 4,500rpm redline. Economy hovers from6-8km/L in traffic and 8-12km/L on the highway, depending on how heavy your foot is. That's pretty darn good given the power and the weight. The five-speed automatic is responsive and the paddle-shifters aren't merely sporty--they're the same magnesium-alloy paddles found on the Evo X.

/images/articleImages/news/0_2013/02/12/drives/01_intro.jpg

RIDE AND HANDLING

Okay, so the Montero Sport doesn't drive like an Evo, but it's a gas to pilot down the highway, with huge reserves of power and acceleration. Handling is safe and competent, but lots of body roll and arm-twirlingly slow steering discourage rally-style aggression. While the brakes are competent, a truck this fast needs better. The ride is lumpier than in a crossover, but a fair bit better than most other ladder-frame SUVs. Despite its bulk, this seven-seater has a pretty tight turning circle, and the low hood, big windows and backing-up sensors make for easy parking.

Mitsubishi Montero Sport - Extra Features

EXTRA FEATURES

The GLS-V might be a mid-level trim, but you would never be able to tell from looking at it. Standard stepboards and foglights set it apart from the base model. There's soft, padded leather everywhere. There's a touchscreen DVD/navigation/entertainment console that includes a data display for fuel economy, temperature, air pressure, compass headings, and even an option for tire pressure monitoring (just an option, mind you, as our test unit didn't have it). Perhaps the only reason to go for the top-of-the-line GTV variant is if you need four-wheel drive, but the Montero Sport is much too nice to be taken off-road.


THE VERDICT

Even with the new and updated competitors from Chevrolet and Toyota, the Montero Sport still represents an enticing blend of power, luxury and comfort that's simply unbeatable at this price point. The manual GLS-V may have 4WD, but the clutch and shifter are needlessly balky. The top-dog GTV, on the other hand, comes with an auto but doesn't possess much in the way of extra toys. The GLS-V AT hits the Goldilocks zone spot-on. It's just right in every way.

SPECS: MITSUBISHI MONTERO SPORT GLS-V AT

Engine: 2.5-liter 4D56T diesel with variable-geometry turbo

Transmission: 5-speed automatic

Power: 176hp @ 4,000rpm

Torque: 350Nm @ 1,800-3,500rpm

Drive layout: RWD

Seating: 7

Price: P1,458,000

Score: 17/20

Photos by Niky and Ken Tamayo

SIGN UP FOR EXCLUSIVE AUTOMOTIVE UPDATES!
GET VIA
COMMENTS

User account login

Not registered? Click here to be a TopGear.com.ph member.

Forgot your Password?.

Click this link to view our posting guidelines.

Filter comments by:
  • torpydoo Feb 12 2013 @ 03:35pm
    nice!
    • FanBoy Feb 23 2013 @ 03:41pm
      TO TORPYDOO:

      That's very Rude of You.

      Let me slap you with this.

      Being THE BEST IS SUBJECTIVE. Let them live with that. Case closed.

      FORD EVEREST IS INDEED THE BEST. Last 2009. WHERE THE 3rd Generation eve came out.

      Highest HP, Highest Torque, Class Leading Diesel Engine technology. Where the Fortuner, Montero Sport having the Old technology at that time then.

      now you, shooing away the Ford everest, is UNFAIR, knowing that ALL OF THEM ARE TRUCK BASED SUV.

      Also, It is UNFAIR to COMPARE a 4 Year old technology to the NEWLY launched ones. yes, in the 4, everest would fare the last: SPEC to SPEC. BUT, think about this torpydoo, DESPITE being 4th in the LIST,
      THE TECHNOLOGY IT HAS LAST 4 YEARS, STILL DELIVERS, and STILL COMPETES IN THE SEGMENT RIGHT NOW - The Engine and Truck technology it has, 4 years AGO, is still at par at what we have right now.

      Still sells, Still able, and Still Considerable in choosing.

      That's it.

      See the New Ranger. imagine the New Everest once it comes out. And I'll get back to you - I promise.

      thanks for the eyes :)
    • FanBoy Feb 25 2013 @ 05:18pm
      My reply is re: your post on the 2nd page of this Comment section
  • lord_cykb24 Feb 12 2013 @ 03:41pm
    not this time, gonna wait for the 2015 MS.......
  • GotToRead Feb 12 2013 @ 03:45pm
    Meh, looks dated. Honestly if the lowest trim Montero is priced as the Fortuner and Trailblazer, few would grab this. No offense to Mitsubishi fans.
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Feb 13 2013 @ 09:00am
      To be honest, with the Fort, it's a wash. The Fort does have better ergonomics and handling, but the interiors are mostly the same and the new VNT engine is peppy but not exceptional. The Trailblazer is an absolute blast, and is probably the best in the segment at the moment for the self-driven owner, but the price is much, much steeper and I have issues with the rear seat space.
      • Niky Tamayo
        Niky Tamayo Feb 13 2013 @ 09:00am
        But hey, if you can afford the TB, by all means, go for it. ;)
      • GotToRead Feb 13 2013 @ 12:52pm
        Yeah, the only thing that keeps the Montero alive is its pricing and honestly its engine output and performance is not that bad but in terms of design this SUV is really outdated. I concur, TB is the most "sulit" SUV as of now, I'm still waiting for the new Everest and I think it will bigger this time.
        • Niky Tamayo
          Niky Tamayo Feb 13 2013 @ 01:23pm
          I wouldn't say "sulit"... the fully-loaded one is pretty expensive, but as far as ladder frames go, the 4x4 is something else. And the leather is absolutely fantastic.
          • GotToRead Feb 13 2013 @ 04:12pm
            What I meant is the "sulit" variant is the 4x2 variant.
  • 17Sphynx17 Feb 12 2013 @ 03:47pm
    Isn't it 4x2? Not RWD? And isn't the GLS-V now offered with auto climate control? Just curious because I don't know the timetable when the actual review and photos were taken/done.

    And above the Ride and Handling section, you have 2 images that are exactly the same. Maybe you were trying to put in something different so might want to go back to update the image link. =)

    Cheers!
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Feb 13 2013 @ 06:23am
      4x2 and RWD are the same thing. Yes, newer units have cllimate control, but the layout is the same and there's little difference, really. Just squint and pretend that they're fancier knobs. :p
      • 17Sphynx17 Feb 13 2013 @ 08:11am
        Hehe! YUp. I didn't know that. I was under the impression the if you put RWD then it means only 1 rear wheel spins. My bad. =)
    • hopeless Feb 13 2013 @ 10:17am
      4x2 could be FWD or RWD.
  • Vernon B. Sarne
    Vernon B. Sarne Feb 12 2013 @ 03:51pm
    @17Sphynx17 - RWD is 4x2.
    • 17Sphynx17 Feb 12 2013 @ 04:00pm
      copy chief. Thought it was categorized differently. Thanks for the reply sir. =)
  • JamtriX Feb 12 2013 @ 04:02pm
    I cant wait to see the reaction of the anti-montero camp at yung isang nagmamagaling sa 4D56 Jurassic engine daw. haha
    • Kyoichi Sudo Feb 12 2013 @ 08:40pm
      Nyahahaha...
    • Kyoichi Sudo Feb 12 2013 @ 08:46pm
      It may be jurassic but tested and proven, that's the 4D56. If I were Mitsu I'd resurrect the 4DR5 2.7L diesel engine, it will help a lot...
  • maranello_5775 Feb 12 2013 @ 04:21pm
    2013 GLS-V 4x2 models now offer auto climate control, rear camera option and mesh type grille.
  • MyFordSync Feb 12 2013 @ 04:23pm
    The MS is simply outclassing every competitor in this segment due to its combination of looks, specs and price. The Fortuner maybe gwapo and so on etc. etc. but if you put all parameters in total you simply end up with the MS. Here in Abu Dhabi, it pegs around 1.1M (converted to Php for the top of the line) but of course with a 4.0 gasoline engine. It could have been a immediate grab for me but the 2013 Santa Fe is only Php 50,000 away. How I wish and only in my dreams that the we can have the same vehicle pricing here to the Philippines. It would be a delight to see every Pinoy having so much choices and run for their money.
  • TingMatic Feb 12 2013 @ 04:25pm
    Wow, the third row seat is only big and tall enough for kids and hobbits. And its fuel consumption is even higher than the much bigger and powerful Chevy Blazer. Only Mitsubishi lovers will buy this, he he he!
    • Kyoichi Sudo Feb 12 2013 @ 05:59pm
      You sure about that? My 6-footer uncle fits comfortably in the third row seats of his MS GTV...
      • TingMatic Feb 12 2013 @ 06:35pm
        Please sit beside your alleged 6 footer uncle in the third row and you will find him funny. And while sitting with your uncle in the 3rd row travel from Manila to Baguio and vice versa. If your uncle and even you will not get stressed, my vote for your resilience!
        • Kyoichi Sudo Feb 12 2013 @ 08:43pm
          Actually I've already tried from Quezon City to Batangas when we had our last family reunion, it did felt great!

          FYI my height is 5'8"...
          • TingMatic Feb 12 2013 @ 08:59pm
            Congrats for being so resilient! You felt great sitting in a cramp third row with your knees almost touching your chin. We call that blind loyalty! Kahit masakit na ang bewang happy pa rin! Bilib ako, he he he!
            • Kyoichi Sudo Feb 12 2013 @ 09:49pm
              Almost touching my chin? Dude, you weren't even w/ us that time to say that my knees almost touched my chin. And oh, my knees never got close to my chin that time, maybe you're 7' tall that's why ^_^
      • 17Sphynx17 Feb 12 2013 @ 08:46pm
        There is merit in the issue. Fitting comfortably is different from being seated comfortably especially during long drives. For short city drives, it's negligible comfort/discomfort and I would say conditions are acceptable. But even the Fort suffers from this in the third row as far as my experiences can recall so it isn't as much of an issue but rather I call it a compromise.

        I haven't sat at the third row of the TB though so I don't know how big the difference is now with the new kid on the block.
      • carwiki Feb 19 2013 @ 05:32pm
        Oh, not again!
    • The Stig Feb 12 2013 @ 10:22pm
      ang dami mong reklamo sa backseat....dun ka ba parati nakaupo?...
      • dsobreo Feb 12 2013 @ 11:30pm
        Tama! Baka sa 2nd row ilalagay yung mga gamit at sa 3rd row nila gusto umupo
      • TingMatic Feb 13 2013 @ 06:58am
        When you buy a car, you buy the total package. That's all. Thanks
      • Kyoichi Sudo Feb 13 2013 @ 08:59pm
        nandun daw kasi sa third row seats ang driver seat nya hahahaha...
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Feb 13 2013 @ 06:26am
      The third row has more legroom and headroom than in the Chevrolet Trailblazer. The only problem being that the seat is so low to the floor that it becomes uncomfortable on long drives if there are two of you and you can't spread out.
    • foolishofficer Feb 13 2013 @ 08:51am
      Most 7 seaters are practically 5 2. The "2" is for midgets, kids and the poor nannies. Lucky you if the "2" is really a regular 2-seat. If it fits 6 footers, the issue is how long or how tolerable is it before he cries for mommy. If he did not then the vehicle is a bargain

      If you want a 7-seater most of the time, get a real van
  • TopGenes Feb 12 2013 @ 04:37pm
    Score is 17/20... not bad...Mighty Monty is still the Best Beast! Nice review TGP
  • wazdog Feb 12 2013 @ 04:49pm
    The Montero may be a good car if you're upgrading from an Innova. Those who are accustomed to crossovers may find the Montero's loud noise, strong vibration, heavy steering and harsh ride a big disappointment. It's definitely not a refined car but a pick-up with a third row.
    • 17Sphynx17 Feb 12 2013 @ 08:49pm
      But isn't that what they all are in their class (coming from a pickup chassis/ladder frame chassis)?

      The Alterra, Fort, TB, Monty and Everest? So not necessarily a bad thing right? =)
  • jesslink Feb 12 2013 @ 05:36pm
    drooling...
  • hopeless Feb 12 2013 @ 05:58pm
    The reason why would I get a Montero Sport? It has seats that fold flat to the floor, has 4x4 m/t option, has a/t with manual mode, has a good pricing. The reason why would I get a Fortuner? It's because of all other good reasons, except the aforementioned. The reason why would I pick neither of the two? Both makes the dark souls' eyes glow.
  • Kyoichi Sudo Feb 12 2013 @ 06:09pm
    Nice review about the Montero Sport, although you did test drove the 2012 model not the 2013-update version...

    Just to ask, did the author of this review drove the MS w/ a very heavy right foot? Even my uncle achieves 9-10km/L in the city even though he likes driving fast, I also averaged 13-15km/L when I got the chance to drives his MS on the highway and w/ a speed of 90km/L(I do drive fast sometimes but only in open roads...)

    Anyway next time maybe you could make a review about the Montero Sport GLX AT, for budget-conscious buyers and to impress some bashers hehehehe...
    • 17Sphynx17 Feb 12 2013 @ 08:54pm
      Actually 9 is on the high side. 10 you would really need the most ideal city conditions just to get there. And if the rating is only reliant on the Display, then it isn't accurate.

      8km/l for city is an acceptable average, 7 is the bottom figure I get on mine though. I haven't had a time where I dropped to 6km/l on city though.

      As for highway, the highest I every got on a good day at a steady 100kph with the AT hovering at 2000rpm is actually 13km/l same with the DOE (or as rated). Never have been able to go higher than that. 32 psi at the front 36 psi at the back. 2 passengers only, no additional cargo, started from full tank. =) top off after the trip. Did this on the SCTEX. 10km/l would be my lowest for highway, and this is for multiple averages already. lowest I ever got highway was 9.8km/l. a total of 700km/l traveled within 24 hours. Repeated around 7-8 times, southbound route from Manila to Cam Norte and back.
      • mgr366 Feb 13 2013 @ 10:57am
        uy parehas tayo 17Sphynx17, actually try to lower it down to 80KpH sa NLEX at SCTEX and it will have an average of 14 to 16KpH, depende sa kargada. Usually, kumukuha ako ng mga uling sa province at bigas para tipid hahaha...
        • 17Sphynx17 Feb 13 2013 @ 11:35am
          Hehe! Bored na ako sobra nun kung straight line na 80kph lang takbo. Pero kung 80kph na may mga liko liko, okay lang, kasi kelangan ng reaction galing sa akin. At least hindi ako maantok sa biyahe. hehe!
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Feb 13 2013 @ 06:29am
      Yes... 6 km/l is with really bad driving... 7-8 is about typical. Could be worse. During PCOTY, when we had people with really heavy feet, the MS was averaging 5 km/l in the city, similar to the 3.0s. In the same conditions, better than the 3.0s, not quite as good as the new Ford 2.2, and about average for a 2.5.
      • TingMatic Feb 13 2013 @ 07:36am
        You just did it right since fuel efficiency tests should be done under normal driving situations. Meaning, a city driving is driving in the streets of Metro Manila during rush hours and highway driving is done at NLEX or SLEX. The result will be more appreciated by the consumers. That's my opinion.
      • StoNiniox Feb 15 2013 @ 09:20pm
        sorento has 6 speed 2.2 engine uphill/downhill biyahe namin at 11 sakay kinaya imagine 16km/1liter 60 mins drive
        • carwiki Feb 21 2013 @ 10:19am
          11 passengers in Sorento? That's what you mean?
  • FanBoy Feb 12 2013 @ 06:51pm
    The MS has been reviewed here in TGP thrice already. Just sayin :) I mean.. Why?
    • capt.tanker Feb 12 2013 @ 07:12pm
      You mean what...business my friend.
    • VR40DETT Feb 12 2013 @ 07:37pm
      maybe they cannot determine whether its not worthy nor worthy! hahahahahah
    • carwiki Feb 14 2013 @ 12:21pm
      I concur. The first MS review here was the GLS SE variant (I'm not sure), second is the GT-V variant, and third is this, GLS-V variant.
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Feb 15 2013 @ 09:31am
      Because Mitsubishi has a lot of variants, carries test units for all those variants and every time we review one, we get nice, big fights in the comments sections. :p But seriously, it was on our schedule.
  • VR40DETT Feb 12 2013 @ 07:21pm
    i'd go for VNT fortuner.. tsss.. hahaha
    • TingMatic Feb 12 2013 @ 08:51pm
      I agree moreso if you go for the Blazer matic.
    • VR40DETT Feb 18 2013 @ 11:48am
      and TrailBlazer is more better than montero! hahhaah
  • vgpena Feb 12 2013 @ 08:04pm
    I agree 100% with this review. But I'm holding out for the 4x2 2.8-litre Automatic Trailblazer. If it's priced at the same level as this Montero, it's a steal!
  • TingMatic Feb 12 2013 @ 08:51pm
    The third row seats are what you call after thought! Meaning, the third row was not part of the original design. Also, the front row seats are so low which makes anybody above 5 feet and 7 inches tall develop lower back aches. The Mitsubishi people did not also improve the height of the seats of Strada. They just shortened the Strada chassis and install a cover and viola the Montero comes out.
    • 17Sphynx17 Feb 12 2013 @ 09:00pm
      You can raise the rear portion of the driver seat manually to give you better visbility.. I'm 6ft tall and I push the seat down to the lowest setting that it is possible.

      I've driven the car or about 14 hours within 1 day. 7 hours in the early morning, 7 hours at night and I didn't have back pain after though so maybe your seat position wasn't adjusted properly for driving. I adjust the steering wheel so that it is high and not on that low car steering wheel position, have the seat pushed down the lowest setting I can put it and position the backrest close to almost upright but still with a bit of incline towards the rear so I am leaning on the seat for support.

      Or just the ergonomics of the Montero driver seat and steering wheel is not compatible with you, doesn't mean it is across the board.
      • TingMatic Feb 12 2013 @ 09:06pm
        Please drive a Blazer so that you will appreciate what I mean! It's comfortable for the driver, for the front and second row passengers and even for the third row adult passengers. There is no need for mind boggling adjustments for the height of the driver's seat and the angle of the steering wheel. Simple adjustments and it will immediately put you at ease! Try it.
        • 17Sphynx17 Feb 12 2013 @ 09:12pm
          I'm just saying that it can be adjusted. I wouldn't call it mind boggling though as I think it is normal that each driver has their own preference in terms of driving position. However, my experience with regards to the issue of "back pain inducing" is to the contrary.

          And once you do set it, you don't need to change it. The steering wheel only has 2 settings. The lean of the seat is adjustable like your distance from the dash/pedals/steering wheel. The manual adjustment as to how "deep" the seat is positioned may have been something you didn't explore so I elaborate.

          Heck, my hands weren't tired after driving that long because of how I set the seat that I was also able to use the middle arm rest to my advantage. Just personal tweaks that I know the Monty and even its competitor has.

          But of course, I would look forward to be able to try the TB in a long drive situation. No chance has propped up yet. But I am on the side that the TB offers something a bit more compelling (for me as a driver/consumer) that the Monty is now (presently) lacking in when you weigh it against the present competitions lineups.
  • GTi Feb 12 2013 @ 10:01pm
    I wonder why is it that I see many smoke belching Montero's on the streets? Many of these are even VGT equipped.
    • Niky Tamayo
      Niky Tamayo Feb 13 2013 @ 06:33am
      Terrible fuel. I've driven several MSs. Some smoked like nobody's business... but this particular test unit didn't smoke even when I floored the pedal. And I floored it a lot. Regular EGR cleaning and using decent fuel may just do the trick.
    • carwiki Feb 21 2013 @ 10:22am
      And I also saw a Montero that emits a brownish smoke.
  • The Stig Feb 12 2013 @ 10:19pm
    nakakabilib talaga tong MS...wala masyadong update pero still kicking the *ss of it's rivals...when kaya nila ito iupdate?.parating pa naman yung outlander na twin nya na...baka MS ang ibadge nila dun...but then again the new outlander is more of a city dweller and MS has a reputation for dirt...hmmf?.
    • tgstig Feb 13 2013 @ 12:20am
      hanggat bumebenta ata di nila iuupdate (like all new model) tingnan mo yung adventure? parang isuzu crosswind sportivo, puro upgrade nalang. im not sure about mitsubishi's future design, di ko trip yung new outlander, nakita ko na sa MIAS 2012
      • The Stig Feb 13 2013 @ 03:15pm
        oo nga...di ko rin trip...mas ok yung dati...mukang montero yung ngayun...
  • tgstig Feb 13 2013 @ 12:20am
    nga pala naka mesh grille with V badge na ang 2013 model
  • Djerms Feb 13 2013 @ 07:09am
    Nice review. My personal take on the montero and strada lineup of Mitsubishi....

    I still think these two vehicles has the best ride of them all, but it does not give an exciting handling due (its an SUV after all)...

    The 4d56 Vgt engine is really a belcher...they should retire it and make a new small block for their lineup. If given the choice between the 4d56 and the newer 3.2 chain driven motor, I'd choose the latter. It has excellent useable torque and good speed pickup....

    • TingMatic Feb 13 2013 @ 07:59am
      That's why Mitsubishi and Nissan have formed a JV to come up with a shared all new pickup truck. Maybe a new engine is also part of this venture. Designing, testing and putting into mass production an all new engine require a huge investment and unfortunately Mitsubishi Motors has fallen off the top ten globally including its bottom line for the past few years. Thus, the stockholders are weary of approving the creation of an all new engine if done by Mitsubishi alone because it will further erode its thin bottom line. Gone are the days when Mitsubishi Motors are up with the best of the best in the global motor vehicle sales. Gone are the days that Mitsubishi are almost at par with Toyota and Honda. Hyundai is even outselling Mitsubishi globally and as a matter of fact Hyundai Motors is now up there in the motoring world with the likes of Toyota, GM, Ford, Volkswagen group, Honda, Renault group, etc. Is it a dying brand? I hope it's not!
      • GotToRead Feb 13 2013 @ 12:54pm
        If my memory is still correct that venture was cancelled?
      • Niky Tamayo
        Niky Tamayo Feb 13 2013 @ 01:33pm
        Mitsubishi may no longer hang with the big boys in terms of sales, and it's virtually dead in America. But the quality of Mitsubishi's engineering is still formidable. The new Mirage, for one, manages to be more powerful, more fuel efficient and lighter than the Picanto and Spark, while being the only small car with a five-star crash rating. Focusing on emerging markets like South East Asia and India with cars like the Strada/Triton and the Mirage is the way forward for Mitsubishi. The margins are better than trying to sell big cars for cheap money in the US.
        • TingMatic Feb 13 2013 @ 08:48pm
          But then is it sustainable? Economies of scale is always the way forward and unless you have a solid base globally, you will not be able to cope up with the big boys and eventually you either die a natural death or gobbled up by another giant. That's the current condition of Mitsubishi Motors. It is following the footsteps of Isuzu and Suzuki. Isuzu and Suzuki are practically gone in the US and now Mitsubishi is reducing their volume in the US, as well. And if you are not a major player in the US market, you are doomed!
          • 17Sphynx17 Feb 13 2013 @ 09:52pm
            You are correct in that you are unable to keep up with the big boys. However, that is where strategy comes in to play. Brands like Tata are what you would consider small players but they look to be playing their cards right, enough so that they can break into the established markets later on.

            Focus on your strengths, minimize costs/expenses and find a niche. Maybe Mitsu can redo it, or maybe it will take them more time before they do it successfully. Only time will tell. Heck, maybe an acquisition/partnership might put things in order like Renault-Nissan on a global scale. Who knows what the future brings. What's important is you play your cards right.
            • TingMatic Feb 14 2013 @ 06:42am
              For the sake of argument, I will tell you that Tata Motors is a no pushover such that they had acquired iconic brands like Jaguar and Land Rover. And initial results would point out that they are churning more units than before. Mitsubishi Motors is in a reverse mode and I hope this will not continue! More players result in more quality for the consumers.
              • 17Sphynx17 Feb 14 2013 @ 09:51am
                Sorry. I didn't add the word was to the description of Tata being a small player (context was meant to be in the past). Basically it showed that by focusing their strengths on emerging markets (especially India), they managed to play the game right and eventually go on to grow and be bigger, then acquire the brands you mentioned.

                Plus, I think the wealth of the owner helped in ease of acuiring the additional brands. =)
          • Niky Tamayo
            Niky Tamayo Feb 14 2013 @ 06:38am
            See, Suzuki is gone in the US... but can we argue that Suzuki the brand is dead? They have huge sales in India, and their small car development still proceeds apace. There is money in Asia for those who are willing to compete there. Mitsubishi can focus on emerging markets and still stay alive. The US market is dead to them, but Europe and Asia are still wide open. Marketing in the US is important, but it's expensive. The model mix you sell there won't work anywhere else. Big cars with big motors are the bread and butter of the US market. You can't even sell diesels. Americans prefer down-sized turbo motors for that big, gasoline motor feel. What you sell in the US will only make up the top of your model range elsewhere. But whatever you sell in Asia will be applicable to Europe as long as it meets safety and emissions standards.
  • Djerms Feb 13 2013 @ 07:11am
    *Wrong grammar...should be plural....(Monty and strada)....
  • torpydoo Feb 13 2013 @ 08:01am
    hay naku, kahit ano pa sabihin ng mga anti dito, they cannot hide the fact that this monster is indeed a best seller. it's indeed a best value for your money.
    • GotToRead Feb 13 2013 @ 12:53pm
      Best selling does not always mean that it's the best but I'm not saying that the Montero can't deliver.
      • torpydoo Feb 13 2013 @ 03:33pm
        this article is all about montero being a best seller, and how the monty become a great value for every penny. it doesn't say anything being the best of its class.
  • jesslink Feb 13 2013 @ 09:27am
    they don't really get it...they are blind seeing the numbers...anyways, its just below the number of ten people vs. swarming numbers of people who owns this monster in the city streets highways expressways zigzags province barrios sitios and what have you.Globally? nah forget it! andito tayo sa Pinas noh!!
    • torpydoo Feb 13 2013 @ 12:17pm
      sabi nga nyan, "Let the streets do the talking".
  • mindkinetic Feb 13 2013 @ 01:30pm
    there is only one reason why the monty sells here in the philippines: PERCEPTION

    1. it gives you that feeling of owning its big brother the PAJERO since it is reffered to as pajero sports in other country.
    2. the need for truck base SUV in the country beefed up due to our climate and road condition
    3. the monty is the cheapest midsize suv ( in terms of price) giving a perception of value for your money.
    my dad owns both the fort and the monty , however he prefers to ride the monty more kasi daw para daw magmukha syang bata hehehe on the other hand my younger sibling wants to ride the fort more para daw my aura of maturity ( paradox of life :) ako naman i'll stick with my TB para walang kaagaw hahaha.
    • torpydoo Feb 13 2013 @ 03:36pm
      actually you ennumerated 3 reasons. hehehehe peace!
      • mindkinetic Feb 13 2013 @ 04:35pm
        hahaha . its just one reason PERCEPTIOn i only enumerated how it can possibly be perceived.
    • Alllan Feb 15 2013 @ 01:25pm
      Saludo ako sa dad mo, despite the new TB, he still prefer to drive the car that he really likes.
      To your dad case, its no longer perception but a sense of maturity and experience.
  • torpydoo Feb 13 2013 @ 03:44pm
    it appears that the black propaganda (sudden unintended acceleration) from the crustaceans cultivated by the competition, actually helped boost the sales of montero. pretty bold and st*p*d move from the competition. i wonder what's their next black propaganda would be?
  • gundam Feb 13 2013 @ 04:56pm
    The review is spot-on. 19.5/20.


    • gundam Feb 15 2013 @ 09:56am
      Sorry niky but i think the thumbs down is for you.

      Or they dont understand what i mean.
  • 16bab16 Feb 13 2013 @ 07:44pm
    Good day, happy valentines everybody. How about sa periodic maintainance? Montero is one sa isang mahal ang bayad in terms of maintaining, kasi obligado ka na palitan ang fuel filter every pms para manigurado kasi nga sadiesel natin. Mas mahal pa ang pms ng montero kaysa sa fortuner. Sa trail blazer naman every 10,000 km ang pms. As a consumer, ito kasi ang isang hidden charges sa aftersale ng ating sasakyan. Ito ang isang concern ng buyer.
    • TingMatic Feb 13 2013 @ 08:54pm
      And Mitsubishi Service Centers require to use only synthetic oil under the pain of losing the warranty. That leaves no choice for the consumers. That happened to my 2009 Strada which I sold in 2011. I know that this is also happening in the case of Montero!
      • gundam Feb 15 2013 @ 10:01am
        Is that in the service manual.

        Or casa told you and you believe them.
    • 17Sphynx17 Feb 13 2013 @ 09:48pm
      If you are just comparing the Monty to Fort with the 5k and 10k pms intervals, then the disparity would be around 5k php between the two of them. The higher of course being that of the Monty.

      How much though is the 10k pms of the Trailblazer? It would be intriguing to find out. I am actually very curious why the TB is able to be every 10k when both the Fort and Monty require a 5k pms topup of engine oil. Could it mean that the TB has a larger oil tank to house the additional capacity?

      About sa fuel, well, grey area in the sense na hindi mo din talaga masabi kung bigla ka ma-out of your regular route at bigla ka matapat sa questionable diesel e. I think you can always instruct your SA to not replace it if you want. But of course, I don't advice that. I would rather have the peace of mind rather than a nagging feeling at the back of my head that my engine might suddenly konk out just bec I have accumulated too much foreign particles in the filter.
      • TingMatic Feb 14 2013 @ 07:40am
        The Blazer 10km PMS is about P9k all in which is a lot cheaper than that of Montero. But of course just fill your Blazer with euro 2 diesel fuel unless you don't have any other choice.
        • aldy888cbu Feb 14 2013 @ 08:55am
          9k? so how much is monty's? Is it that expensive with the SUV's . I just had my Innova's 45k PMS and it cost 2,660 only though the next interval would cost 6,000 so on average every 5k PMS is around P4,500. My 2011 Mazda BT50's last 5k PMS cost P5,000 I don't know how much the next interval. would cost.
          • 17Sphynx17 Feb 14 2013 @ 09:41am
            Monty's would be around 5k for 5kpms interval, and 9-10k for the 10k pms interval. All in all around 15k. Sa monty, alam ko 3k for the 5kpms and 7k for the 10kpms. So around 10k php. Hence the 5k disparity with the monty's.

            If that is the case for the TB, then it also falls in PMS interval same with the Fort.
          • 17Sphynx17 Feb 14 2013 @ 09:51am
            Sorry, meant fort on the second line.

            So would assume your 10k pms for your bt50 be around 9k.
          • capt.tanker Feb 19 2013 @ 01:30pm
            Same as with fort..
      • mgr366 Feb 14 2013 @ 06:29pm
        speaking of which, Caltex (south bound) sa may NLEX before Balintawak December 2011, I had a bad experience. Nangitim buga ng usok ng monty ko. Had no choice kasi galing ako ng province, paubos na fuel ko. Caltex ako kasi sayang ang HSBC rebate.
        • 17Sphynx17 Feb 14 2013 @ 06:35pm
          I actually avoid Caltex altogether. The responsiveness felt really strained and retarded compared to when I use other brands on the Monty, yung para bang cold start ka parati kahit ganu mo na katagal dala dala.

          And am not talking about using the top of the line diesels, just the regular ones from other brands. Still am wishing for a nearby unioil to come up soon so I can try Euro4. hehe!
  • jigg11 Feb 14 2013 @ 01:58am
    Basta monterosport, blockbuster talaga kahit dito pa nga lang sa mga comments at hits sa tgp. nabubuhayan ng dugo ang mga car enthousiasts basta montero ang topic: mapakontra or fanboys. parang yan ang feeling ko habang nagda-drive ng montero sport ko. di siya perfect ride pero eksakto lang sa panlasang pinoy!
    • Kyoichi Sudo Feb 14 2013 @ 07:10am
      Ganyan talaga ang buhay Sir jigg, pero hey! people are not made to please everyone ^_^

      And hey, you do have nice taste in choosing a SUV ;)
    • FanBoy Feb 14 2013 @ 09:25am
      That's.. awkward and cheesy. :|
  • ride-on Feb 14 2013 @ 01:13pm
    All you guys arguing here make sense.Monty, Fort, TBlazer, Everest are all ASEAN SUV that fits to run in the flooded streets & bumpy roads full of potholes.But I'm saying goodbye to this canopied pick-up truck & say hello to unibody crossovers/CUV.
  • torpydoo Feb 14 2013 @ 03:00pm
    kung best seller toh, tiyak merong mga nilalangaw sa showrooms. yung mga SUV na bihirang bihira mo lang makita sa kalsada.
  • patrickcchua Feb 15 2013 @ 11:15am
    I dont have time to reall all the comments but this caught my attention: "It pulls strongly from off-idle, but then the variable geometry turbocharger switches into high gear at 1,500rpm, and it rockets forward, pulling hard to the 4,500rpm redline." on the engine performance section. I never knew that turbocharges switch gears too like transmissions.

    Also, isnt this vehicle a diesel powered one? :"Okay, so the Montero Sport doesn't drive like an Evo, but it's a gas to pilot down the highway, with huge reserves of power and acceleration."

    Nothing against the Montero sport but i got confused with what's written about it.

    • 17Sphynx17 Feb 15 2013 @ 12:05pm
      The statement "but it's a gas to pilot", means that it is a "JOY" to drive. Although to inform you, there is a v6 gasoline Montero, but that is beside the point and not really what the statement is meant to be.

      As for the turbo switching into high gear just means that the delivery of performance is felt within the rev range, 1500-4500rpm. It doesn't mean there is gearing like transmission but as you can tell from the name, VARIABLE geometry turbo. The turbo is changing the volume of air it delivers to improve performance for low and high rpm situations. Old turbos usually just hit at 2500rpm upwards, with these variable tech, we can now feel the performance bump at lower rpms.

      Hope that helped in understanding it.
      • Niky Tamayo
        Niky Tamayo Feb 16 2013 @ 09:27pm
        Yup. Basically that. The variable geometry turbo in the 4D56 switches "trims" at around 1,500 rpm. This means that it goes from "fuel saving" low rpm mode to "power mode". Measured on the dyno at Speedlab, our well-used test unit did 165 horsepower at the wheels... about what you'd expect from something making 180 horsepower at the crank, and we measured boost at nearly 20 psi. That's a lotta boost.
        • jcarlo_86 Feb 16 2013 @ 11:11pm
          165 hp to the wheels? wow that's too good to be true considering the transmission's automatic. 20 psi is indeed a lot, i mean that's already enough to generate 600 plus hp in a gas engine of the same size ^_^
          • Niky Tamayo
            Niky Tamayo Feb 18 2013 @ 09:08am
            On a dynapack, you subtract maybe 10-15 hp to equal the readings of a Mustang Dyno. But still, what holds is this: The 4D56T makes about 15 whp more than the Nissan 2.5, which is rated at 175bhp. That's why the impromptu drag race between the Navara and the Strada went so badly for Deakin and the Navara. Mitsubishi's 2.5 is still king of the HP race. It'll be very interesting to see what numbers we can pull out of the new 2.8 from Chevrolet and the new 3.2 from Mazda, both of which are rated higher than the 4D56T.
  • sparetire24 Feb 16 2013 @ 03:17am
    The best talaga ang Monty if you have one. To the others they will tell you that their rides are the best. Opinion wise... I understand that you love your baby (Monty, Forty, Traily, etc).

    On my side... My Monty serves me good... Been to Baguio, down to Bicol and up to Samar now at 40,2 kms reading. Sa kasa on his 40K km PMS which is classified as HEAVY, I just pay 24K pesos from 26K estimate, all fluids and other stuff being checked/replaced (according to PMS Manual). Aircon is very cool. GPS system is okay.

    And I like my Monty. Although kasi gamit nga sya ng todo light scratches on his body were evident dahil sa mga nagtatalsikang bato while traversing in rough/rocky roads. So maasahan talaga sya para sa akin. About sa PMS, ipaestimate nyo na early kung nasa kasa naman kayo for the next PMS para mapaglaanan ng budget. Just take good care of your vehicle the way your manual recommends it, tiyak matagal kayo magsama at the same time develop a good driving habit na rin don't be harsh. By the way I bought my Monty November 2011.

    I am looking forward for a New Mitsubishi Strada for my next project.


  • sparetire24 Feb 16 2013 @ 03:20am
    Nice article anyway. Thanks Niky Tamayo!
  • JamtriX Feb 19 2013 @ 03:34pm
    And Im still waiting what the armchair mechanic reaction to the article and some comments here. Kung makalait sa 4D56 jurrasic daw. Haha haters come out come out.. :-D
  • dmaxvicred18 Feb 20 2013 @ 06:14pm
    Monti vs Forti, what a cute rivals:)
    • torpydoo Feb 21 2013 @ 03:59pm
      out of the picture na pala ang Ford EVE. hahaha sabi ng mga eve owners sa fordclubph, the best daw ang eve. kahit puro old fashions ang mga naka lagay na features.
      • dmaxvicred18 Feb 21 2013 @ 06:50pm
        mao ka!
      • FanBoy Feb 23 2013 @ 03:38pm
        TO TORPYDOO:

        That's very Rude of You.

        Let me slap you with this.

        Being THE BEST IS SUBJECTIVE. Let them live with that. Case closed.

        FORD EVEREST IS INDEED THE BEST. Last 2009. WHERE THE 3rd Generation eve came out.
        Highest HP, Highest Torque, Class Leading Diesel Engine technology. Where the Fortuner, Montero Sport having the Old technology at that time then.

        now you, shooing away the Ford everest, is UNFAIR, knowing that ALL OF THEM ARE TRUCK BASED SUV.

        Also, It is UNFAIR to COMPARE a 4 Year old technology to the NEWLY launched ones. yes, in the 4, everest would fare the last: SPEC to SPEC. BUT, think about this torpydoo, DESPITE being 4th in the LIST,
        THE TECHNOLOGY IT HAS LAST 4 YEARS, STILL DELIVERS, and STILL COMPETES IN THE SEGMENT RIGHT NOW. Still sells, Still able, and Still Considerable in choosing.

        That's it.

        See the New Ranger. imagine the New Everest once it comes out. And I'll get back to you - I promise.

        thanks for the eyes :)
  • FanBoy Feb 23 2013 @ 03:38pm
    TO TORPYDOO:

    That's very Rude of You.

    Let me slap you with this.

    Being THE BEST IS SUBJECTIVE. Let them live with that. Case closed.

    FORD EVEREST IS INDEED THE BEST. Last 2009. WHERE THE 3rd Generation eve came out.
    Highest HP, Highest Torque, Class Leading Diesel Engine technology. Where the Fortuner, Montero Sport having the Old technology at that time then.

    now you, shooing away the Ford everest, is UNFAIR, knowing that ALL OF THEM ARE TRUCK BASED SUV.

    Also, It is UNFAIR to COMPARE a 4 Year old technology to the NEWLY launched ones. yes, in the 4, everest would fare the last: SPEC to SPEC. BUT, think about this torpydoo, DESPITE being 4th in the LIST,
    THE TECHNOLOGY IT HAS LAST 4 YEARS, STILL DELIVERS, and STILL COMPETES IN THE SEGMENT RIGHT NOW. Still sells, Still able, and Still Considerable in choosing.

    That's it.

    See the New Ranger. imagine the New Everest once it comes out. And I'll get back to you - I promise.

    thanks for the eyes :)
    • torpydoo Feb 25 2013 @ 11:49am
      hahahahahahaha ooopss i just tickled the ego of fanaticboy. but until the alleged all-new everest comes out, then come back to me otherwise everest still sucks big time. the only reason it sells because of the huge discounts the ford is offering, still the streets will do the talking here, not you and not me. THE STREETS PAL, THE STREETS. NOW GET OVER WITH IT.

      • FanBoy Feb 25 2013 @ 05:20pm
        I can be a fanboy whenever I wanted to be. just stating facts my friend, now you can go on with your SUBJECTIVENESS and baseless comments here. TGP doesn't need new comers like you who burn everybody else's houses
  • Jibreel Mar 18 2013 @ 01:56am
    My friends can someone tell me the difference between GLS-V and MIVEC besides that GLS-V is diesel and MIVEC is gasoline. Which is more fuel efficient? Thanks much!
  • Edgarallan Poe Mar 20 2013 @ 10:56pm
    Walang silbi ang paddles sapagkat walang ilaw ang indicators sa instrument panel:PRND. Dapat i-recall ang MS!!! O mas mabuti, isuli ang pera para sa paddles.
  • jonserrano Apr 03 2013 @ 11:02pm
    (Your thoughts on the article...)
    Hi, i just bought a 2013 montero glx automatic diesel and here are my comments.
    1. Only 2tkms, engine already emiting black smoke.
    2. Why is that this suv when put on a drive mode and on an uphill or hangng position, it slides backwards as if you are in the neutral mode unlike my other diesel automatic vehicle like innova, starex, ford everest it does not slides back. I have raised it already to citimotors alabang but they could not give me any concrete explanation as to why it happen. I even sent an email to a certain rey mendoza but no reply as of today. I bought an automatic suv to avoid this type of situations (uphills and hanging portions) but it is becoming an inconvenience already in our part not to mention it could cause accident and damage to other vehicle. Since citimotors cant help me on my concern, CAN ANYBODY HELP ME ANDEXPLAINED WHY THIS HAPPEN AND CAN THIS CONCERN BE A BASIS FOR ME TO RETURN IT because this was not explained to me during presentation.
    3. Seats are not comfortable during long drive.
    4. Not so spacious.

    Hope somebody can address my concerns and bring this to the attention of CITIMOTORS ALABANG
  • fortis May 12 2013 @ 10:03pm
    Just a question, is the Montero Sport really a capable off-road vehicle?
  • amanoyuuji Jun 14 2013 @ 11:47am
    Can you guys help me out, is there a telescoping steering wheel option for the montero sport? I'm a huge guy, and I really want plenty of leg room. I fit in comfortably, but I can't heel and toe with the amount of space in it.
  • Josh Miranda Sep 04 2013 @ 11:36pm
    Since nalaman namin ung mga report about sudden acceleration ng matic variant ng Monty, natakot na bumili si Erpat. Tsk.
  • neo 1 month ago
    My family love our montero. This is the best car. Wala naman yan sa auto importante inaalagaan mo kotse mo para alagaan ka rin niya..
Filter comments by:
1 to 20 of 45