Apple trumps men

Who's the man now, eh?
Sep 14, 2009

It's a girl!

After 29 hours and 38 minutes of grueling wet and dry weather, Motor Image Pilipinas officially declared 28-year old Apple Joy Lee Balibado as this year's top champ in the Subaru Impreza Challenge Manila Leg.

Balibado will lead the Philippine contingent in the final round of the Subaru Impreza Challenge in Singapore for a chance to win a brand new Subaru Impreza WRX worth P1.7 million.

Balibado did not just beat the 2008 Impreza Challenge winner Gerald Gonzaga for, she also outlasted the four honor guards who stood for nine solid hours during the funeral march for President Corazon Aquino.

The lone female winner in this year's Impreza Challenge won P15,000, followed by Gonzaga and Relly Esposo, who won P10,000 and P5,000, respectively.

Other finalists who will represent the Philippines in Singapore are Mark Llauder, Ray Joseph Pizana, Raimond dela Torre, Daryll Sarno, Danilo Biadog, Joseph Galvez, and Chrizar Mallari.

Continue reading below ↓

"We are very happy with the turnout this year and we hope that we can come up with the first Filipino winner for the regional finals in Singapore," Motor Image Pilipinas general manager Nicky Mariano said. Motor Image is the exclusive distributor of Subaru vehicles in the Philippines.

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

In 2008, Singaporean competitor George Lee stood with his hand on an Impreza for 81 hours and 32 minutes to beat 399 participants from Southeast Asia.

2009 Subaru Impreza Challenge Manila Leg Winners
Rank # Challenger # Car # Name Time
1 30 3 Apple Joy Lee Balibado 29h 38m
2 52 2 Gerald Gonzaga 29h 36m
3 42 4 Relly Reposo 29h 08m
4 49 3 Mark Llauder 29h 08m
5 38 3 Ray Joseph Pizana 29h 01m
6 46 4 Raimond dela Torre 28h 57m
7 48 2 Daryl Sarno 28h 52m
8 14 1 Danilo Biadog 28h 52m
9 76 3 Joseph Brian Gelvez 28h 50m
10 32 3 Chrizar Mallari 28h 15m


  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱