Button rages on

Jun 8, 2009


Jenson Button made history in Istanbul as the first to beat the driver on pole position at the Turkish Grand Prix.

Button likewise marked his sixth victory out of seven races this season.

Button started the race on P2 but managed to pass Sebastian Vettel on pole position on the first lap and keep the lead against the Red Bull driver - and everyone else - until the end of the race.

Vettel slid a notch lower as teammate Mark Webber landed on second place.

"We knew the podium was set, it was just a matter of whether it was me or Sebastian. (Jenson) was on another planet," Webber was quoted saying in reports following yesterday's race.

Complete result of the Turkish GP:

1 Jenson Button (Brawn-Mercedes)
2 Mark Webber (RBR-Renault)
3 Sebastian Vettel (RBR-Renault)
4 Jarno Trulli (Toyota)
5 Nico Rosberg (Williams-Toyota)
6 Felipe Massa (Ferrari)
7 Robert Kubica (BMW Sauber)
8 Timo Glock (Toyota)
9 Kimi Räikkönen (Ferrari)
10 Fernando Alonso (Renault)
11 Nick Heidfeld (BMW Sauber)
12 Kazuki Nakajima (Williams-Toyota)
13 Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)
14 Heikki Kovolainen (McLaren-Mercedes)
15 Sebastien Buemi (STR-Ferrari)
16 Nelshino Piquet (Renault)
17 Adrian Sutil (Force India-Mercedes)
18 Sebastien Bourdais (STR-Ferrari)
Ret Rubens Barrichello (Brawn-Mercedes)
Ret Giancarlo Fisichella (Force India-Mercedes)

Continue reading below ↓
Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos
  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱