MMDA: Speeding now carries P1,000 fine; buses and trucks exempted

Remember: The limit is 60kph
by Drei Laurel | Apr 5, 2019
PHOTO: Drei Laurel

Late last month, the Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) announced that it would be implementing a 60kph speed limit on all of Manila’s major roads. Now we know how much the fine is.

According to MMDA Regulation No. 19-001, the fine for each instance of speeding is set at P1,000. This will apply to all major circumferential and radial roads within Metro Manila. What roads are these exactly? Check them out below:

Metro Manila Circumferential Roads:

  1. Recto Avenue
  2. Quirino Avenue
  3. Araneta Avenue
  4. EDSA
  5. C.P. Garcia Avenue
  6. Southeast Metro Manila Expressway

Metro Manila Radial Roads:

  1. Roxas Boulevard
  2. Taft Avenue
  3. SLEX
  4. Shaw Boulevard
  5. Ortigas Avenue
  6. Magsaysay Boulevard/Aurora Boulevard
  7. Quezon Avenue/Commonwealth Avenue
  8. Bonifacio Avenue
  9. Rizal Avenue
  10. Marcos Highway/McArthur Highway

That’s the full list provided by the MMDA. We have reached out to the MMDA for clarification regarding the expressways on the list, though it’s safe to say only specific portions will carry the 60kph limit.

Continue reading below ↓

When will this regulation be put into effect? Five days after its publication. Since it came out on April 4, it should kick in on April 9, 2019. However, this is still pending confirmation from the MMDA. You can check out the full regulation in the photo below:

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

Continue reading below ↓

Strangely, buses and trucks are exempted from the regulation. We’ll get back to you regarding this when we get word from the MMDA as to why. In the meantime, you’ve been warned. Take it easy on the accelerator, guys.

See Also


View other articles about:
PHOTO: Drei Laurel
  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱