FIA amends rule for F1 title


The Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) will determine the next Formula One champion driver based on the number of wins in the 2009 races.

This is a deviation from last year's rule, which used a point system in establishing who gets the title for the prestigious race. Under the old rule, the first place in one race gets ten points, second place gets eight points and third place gets six points.

"If two or more drivers finish the season with the same number of wins, the title will be awarded to the driver with the most points, the allocation of points being based on the current ten, eight, six, etc., system," the FIA said in a statement posted on the F1 website following a meeting Tuesday night in France.

The FIA said the rest of the standings starting from the second place will be decided based on the existing point system.

"There is no provision to award medals for first, second and third place. The Constructors' Championship is unaffected," the FIA said.

Meanwhile, the FIA has also decided to make drivers available for autograph signing in their designated team space at the pit lane on the first day of practice. Drivers who are eliminated in qualifying, retiring before the end of the race, and who finish outside the top three are also required to be available for media interviews after the race.

"During the race every team must make at least one senior spokesperson available for interviews by officially accredited TV crews," the FIA said.

Other changes which will be implemented in this year's F1 races will be posted on the FIA website, the group said.

The FIA is implementing changes to increase the public's interest in Formula One while keeping costs down.

View other articles about:
Watch now
  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱