Top Gear Philippines

The Philippine leg of this year's Subaru Palm Challenge took place last September 9 in Bonifacio Global City (BGC). It was a hot Saturday, but the top 10 contestants all managed to hold on for more than 10 hours to the Subaru XV. Talk about a test of endurance! 

The list of winners and their times are as follows: 

1) Juntie G. Torres (10:57:50)

2) Rheden G. Pinoliad (10:57:20)

3) Alex Neblasca (10:54:49)

4) Donn Michael Yap (10:52:05)

5) Mark Joseph Trinos (10:51:31)

6) Carlo T. Talahib, Sr. (10:50:59)

7) Juan E. Furiscal, Jr. (10:50:02)

8) Reggie Purugganan (10:50:00)

9) Lyza Joyce Montejo (10:48:43)

10) Jaspher Ivy H. Galaura (10:46:38)

Coming in third was Palm Challenge veteran and last year's remaining Philippine hopeful Alex Neblasca, who held on for 73 hours and 50 minutes before retiring. Pending the required documents, the 10 Philippine winners will compete in the final next month in Singapore

The weekend also played host to the collegiate leg of the challenge, where the top 3 finishers held on for nearly five hours each. The winners were Vincent Ragudo (4:51:06) of Fatima University, and Shana Costillas (4:46:53) and Joyce Enage (4:46:17) of Rizal Technological University. All three took home P5,000 a piece, while Ragudo earned an additional P30,000 for his school. 

We'll be there in Singapore to witness our contestants competing for the ultimate prize. Stay tuned for that at the end of October. 

Jason Tulio
Staff Writer
Like most guys, Jason inherited his love for cars from watching his dad talk about and tinker with them while he was growing up. Since then, he has leveled up into the roles of motoring journalist/wannabe mechanic/concerned motorist.
full bio
View More Stories About
Singapore Motor Image Pilipinas Subaru Subaru Palm Challenge
Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Latest stories

Forgot your password or email?
Reset your password or look up your email
If you need further assistance, email us