Proposed lemon law gets green light from House of Representatives

Will this finally be passed into law?
Sep 2, 2011

The House of Representatives has approved on its third and final reading a proposed lemon law that is aimed at protecting consumers who buy vehicles that are found to have factory defects.

The proposed lemon law, principally authored by Rep. Ma. Carmen Zamora-Apsay (1st District, Compostela Valley), will cover a vehicle's first 12-month period or its first 20,000-kilometer mileage, whichever comes first.

"During this Lemon Law rights period, the consumer can report any nonconformity with the standards and specifications of the manufacturer, distributor, authorized dealer or retailer, and pursue any right provided for under this Act," Zamora-Apsay said in a statement.

Under the bill, if the manufacturer or distributor is not able to correct the defects of a newly-bought vehicle after four separate repair attempts, the buyer may invoke his right to a refund covering the full amount paid for the purchase of the car.

Zamora-Apsay authored the bill after recent studies showed 100 out of every 100,000 cars sold every year have factory defects. She said while the Department of Trade and Industry generally cover consumer protection, the existing law does not address problems faced by buyers of new but defective vehicles.

Continue reading below ↓

"The proposed lemon law of 2011 will define the parameters in handling consumer complaints involving brand new vehicles," Zamora-Apsay said.

As mentioned, Zamora-Apsay stands as the principal author of the lemon law or House Bill 4841. Other lawmakers who authored the bill--meaning they got your back when you end up buying a new but defective vehicle--are Reps. Bernadette Herrera-Dy (Party List, Bagong Henerasyon), Susan Yap (2nd District, Tarlac), Ma. Amelita Calimbas-Villarosa (Lone District, Occidental Mindoro), Mark Villar (Lone District, Las Pinas City), Cesar Sarmiento (Lone District, Catanduanes), Wilfrido Mark Enverga (1st District, Quezon), Rufus Rodriguez (2nd District, Cagayan de Oro), Maximo Rodriguez, Jr. (Party List, Abante Mindanao), Roger Mercado (Lone District, Southern Leyte), Augusto Boboy Syjuco (2nd District, Iloilo) and Carmelo Lazatin (1st District, Pampanga).

We can only hope that this bill will finally passed into law and not just abandoned, just like what happened in other lemon law attempts filed in the 13th and 14th Congress.

Continue reading below ↓
View other articles about:
Recommended Videos
  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱