2014 Formula 1 season could be longest ever in championship history

Two more than 2012 record of 20 races
by Sharleen Banzon | Sep 29, 2013


Here\'s the recently released provisional calendar for the 2014 Formula 1 season, and we’re pretty sure it\'s been met with mixed reactions around the world. On the one hand, most of the sport\'s viewers are doubtless happy about the prospect of watching more races--a record-breaking total of 22, assuming all asterisked entries will be green-lighted. On the other hand, it presents an unenviable logistical challenge to the teams, who also have four in-season European tests to account for in their travel plans and development strategies.

Aiming to make their debut in the F1 world tour are the street circuits of New Jersey and Russia, while the purpose-built racetracks of Austria and Mexico are set to return after a prolonged absence. South Korea will join the first batch of flyaways at the front end of the calendar (it was previously in the final third of the year) should the organizers be able to find a way around their contractual and financial issues.

Continue reading below ↓

The European leg also accommodates the first two North American events, which form a hectic triple-header with Monaco. And while the glitzy Monte Carlo affair is well beyond our means, some of us on the team are already planning on attending New Jersey and Canada back to back. Fingers crossed that we could pull it off for an epic Road Trip feature.

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

Finally, local fans can expect to be bleary-eyed for the last three races of the season, since these will air in our time zone in the wee Monday hours. If it\'s any consolation, Brazil retains bragging rights as the concluding race, and if our wish for a closely contested 2014 battle were to be fulfilled, there would be no better venue than Interlagos for a nail-biting championship decider.

March 16: Australian GP (Melbourne)
March 30: Malaysia GP (Sepang)
April 6: Bahrain GP (Sakhir)
April 20: Chinese GP (Shanghai)
April 27: Korean GP (Mokpo)*
May 11: Spanish GP (Barcelona)
May 25: Monaco GP (Monte Carlo)
June 1: GP of America (New Jersey)*
June 8: Canadian GP (Montreal)
June 22: Austrian GP (Spielberg)
July 6: British GP (Silverstone)
July 20: German GP (Hockenheim)
July 27: Hungarian GP (Budapest)
August 24: Belgian GP (Spa)
September 7: Italian GP (Monza)
September 21: Singapore GP (Singapore)
October 5: Russian GP (Sochi)
October 12: Japanese GP (Suzuka)
October 26: Abu Dhabi GP (Yas Marina)
November 9: Mexican GP (Mexico City)*
November 16: US GP (Texas)
November 30: Brazilian GP (Sao Paolo)

Continue reading below ↓

*Subject to contract agreement (Korea) and circuit approval (New Jersey and Mexico)

  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱