th images menu user export search eye clock list list2 arrow-left untitled twitter facebook googleplus instagram pinterest cross photos plus triangle-down triangle-up

Top Gear Philippines Philippine Car News - Lucas di Grassi is first-ever Formula E ePrix winner

Ex-Formula 1 driver Lucas di Grassi, who is driving for Audi Sport ABT, has entered the record books for becoming the first driver to win the first-ever Formula E ePrix race held in Beijing this past weekend.

Di Grassi's victory came as the race's two front-runners--e.dams-Renault's Nicolas Prost and Venturi's Nick Heidfeld--collided in a last-corner battle for the lead, taking both their cars out. Heidfeld was attempting to overtake Prost through the last corner, but as the latter attempted to defend his position, both their wheels collided, sending the former crashing into a barrier and flipping his car twice before it crashed back upside down onto the ground. Di Grassi took advantage of the opportunity to finish the race in first place.

"Firstly, I'm happy Nick (Heidfeld) is okay, and it shows how safe these cars are," di Grassi said after the race. "To win the race is like a dream come true. I was lucky to be in the right place at the right time. The team did a great job all through practice and qualifying. Yes, we made a few mistakes, but overall I’m extremely happy to be the first-ever winner of a Formula E race."

Rounding out the top three finishers are Andretti Autosport's Franck Montagny in second place and Virgin Racing's Sam Bird in third place.

Photo from Formula E's Facebook page


If you're viewing this on a mobile device and can't see the video, please click here.

View More Stories About
electric racecar Formula E Lucas di Grassi electric cars electric vehicles motorsports
Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Latest stories

Forgot your password or email?
Reset your password or look up your email
If you need further assistance, email us