Volkswagen Motorsport\'s Ogier, Ingrassia are 2013 WRC champs

VW close to winning manufacturers\' title in debut season
Oct 8, 2013


With two more races to go in the 2013 season, Volkswagen Motorsport\'s Sebastien Ogier and co-driver Julien Ingrassia were crowned the 2013 World Rally Champions at the Rally de France last Sunday.

The duo claimed the drivers\' and co-drivers\' titles in the opening Super Special Power Stage of the race in their Polo R WRC. Their consistent run through the other legs gave them the race win ahead of Citroen\'s Dani Sordo and Carlos del Barrio.

What made the victory even more special for Ogier and Ingrassia is that outgoing--and nine-time--WRC champion tandem Sebastien Loeb and Daniel Elena retired in only the first stage.

\"That is definitely the most amazing rally weekend of my career: first, the world championship title, and now victory at my home rally,\" Ogier said after the awarding ceremony. \"I obviously feel for Sebastien Loeb, but he was going all out to win, and that sort of thing can happen in such difficult conditions. It could have happened to anyone today. Today is the highlight of our season, and I am absolutely overjoyed. I would like to thank my guys. We have done a great job all season. I am really proud of what we have achieved.\"

Ogier and Ingrassia\'s pairing has also set a first in the history of WRC, and that\'s for a driver/co-driver pairing winning the WRC title in their first attempt with a manufacturer in its debut season in the series.

With Ogier and Ingrassia claiming their seventh victory for the season, and with the third-place finish of another Volkswagen Motorsport Team (Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila), the German carmaker has increased its overall lead in the manufacturers\' championship to 80 points ahead of the Citroen team.

Continue reading below ↓




  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱