Top Gear wins 4 Henry Ford Awards, including best automotive story

12 trophies handed out this year
Dec 5, 2013


Top Gear Philippines won four trophies at the 2013 Henry Ford Awards, held Tuesday at The Blue Leaf in McKinley Hill. These awards were for Best Automotive Feature Story (\"If You Buy This Car, Your Life Will Be Fun\" by Vernon B. Sarne, published in the magazine\'s December 2012/January 2013 issue); Best Online Automotive Feature Story (\"Car Financing 101: Breaking It Down To The Last Peso\" by Niky Tamayo, published here on August 7, 2013); Best Ford Feature Story (\"The Power To Shock And Awe\" by Andy Leuterio, published here on December 17, 2012); and Best Published Ford Photograph (\"Road? What Road?\" by Dairy Darilag, published in the magazine\'s April 2013 issue).

This year marked the 13th season of the HFA, the first and only award-giving body in the Philippines for automotive journalism. While sponsored by Ford Philippines, the HFA isn\'t exclusive to Ford stories or television features. Most of the categories give recognition to articles about any car brand. This year\'s winning automotive feature story, in fact, was about the Toyota 86.

Continue reading below ↓

Apart from the four awards--the most by any publication--Top Gear Philippines also got five first-runner-up plaques: two by Paulo Subido for Best Automotive Blog and Best Ford Feature Story; one by Patrick Tadeo for Best Online Automotive Feature Story; one by Ocs Alvarez for Best Published Photograph; and one by Engellheart Jarilla for Best Automotive Video.

Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

The judges for the 2013 Henry Ford Awards included Danilo Arao, associate dean of the University of the Philippines\' College of Mass Communication; Dr. Francine Racho, assistant professor and vice dean of the University of Asia and the Pacific\'s School of Communication; Severino Sarmenta, professor of Ateneo de Manila University\'s Department of Communication; Ces Drilon, broadcast journalist of ABS-CBN; Prof. Cecilia Genove, dean of Silliman University\'s School of Communication; and Kay Hart, managing director of Ford Philippines.

The judges who helped in the special categories included film and commercial director Paolo Dy; Camera Club of the Philippines director Leo Riingen; and Ogilvy & Mather Philippines executive creative director Richmond Walker.

Continue reading below ↓

\"This is a great year for the Henry Ford Awards as we not only recognize the contributions of motoring journalists, but also give due recognition to non-automotive journalists who play a critical role in shaping the automotive industry today,\" said Kay Hart. \"We celebrate all the journalists for their passion, dedication, creativity of reporting, and professionalism in their field.\"

Here is the complete list of winners in the 2013 Henry Ford Awards:

General categories
Best Automotive Feature Story - Vernon B. Sarne, Top Gear Philippines
Best Automotive Column - Inigo Roces, Power Wheels
Best Online Automotive Feature Story - Niky Tamayo,
Best Automotive Blog - Vince Pornelos,
Best Green and Smart Technology Feature Story - Ulysses Ang, Philippine Star
Best Automotive Consumer Feature Story - Steven Yu, Brand Magazine
Best Automotive Television/Online Video - Kevin Francisco,
Best Published Photograph - Ulysses Ang,

Special categories
Best Ford Feature Story - Andy Leuterio,
Best Published Ford Photograph - Dairy Darilag, Top Gear Philippines
Best Ford \'Go Further\' Feature Story - Steven Yu, Business World
Best Broadsheet Motoring Section - Philippine Daily Inquirer

Continue reading below ↓
  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱