PNP sets up quarantine control points along the boundaries of GCQ bubble

Aka the borders of Greater Manila and adjacent provinces
by Sharleen Banzon | Mar 22, 2021
PHOTO: Jerome Ascano

Here’s another acronym for your quarantine alphabet soup: The Philippine National Police (PNP) has just released its list of QCPs, or quarantine control points, that will be set up along the borders of the new general community quarantine (GCQ) ‘bubble.’

In case you missed it or are still confused (we don’t blame you), Metro Manila is now in a GCQ bubble with the following adjacent provinces: Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal. The whole area is being referred to as ‘NCR Plus,’ but we’ve known it for years as Greater Manila. Go figure.

Anyway, the most important thing you need to know about the GCQ bubble is that leisure travel into and out of the area is banned until April 4, and only authorized persons outside their residences may enter and exit upon presenting IDs showing their place of work and their place of residence, or other documents that prove they are allowed to travel.

Continue reading below ↓

To enforce this, the PNP has set up QCPs along the borders of Greater Manila and adjacent provinces. Check them out:

Bulacan and Pampanga boundary

  1. DRT Highway, Barangay Bulualto, San Miguel, Bulacan – Gapan, Nueva Ecija
  2. Barangay San Roque Road, Baliuag, Bulacan – Candaba, Pampanga
  3. MacArthur Highway, barangay Gatbuca, Calampit, Bulacan – Apalit, Pampanga
  4. Barangay San Pascual, Hagonoy Bulacan – Sapang Kawayan, Masantol, Pampanga
Continue reading below ↓
Recommended Videos

NLEX southbound exits (Bulacan)

  1. Pulilan exit
  2. Santa Rita exit
  3. Bocaue exit
  4. Philippine Arena exit
  5. Meycauayan exit
  6. Marilao exit

Cavite and Batangas boundary

  1. Barangay Amuyong, Alfonso, Cavite – Nasugbu, Batangas
  2. Barangay Sapang 1, Ternate, Cavite – Nasugbu, Batangas
  3. Barangay Sungay East, Tagaytay City, Cavite – Barangay Guillermo, Talisay, Batangas
  4. Barangay San Jose, Tagaytay City, Cavite – Talisay, Batangas

Laguna and Batangas boundary

  1. Barangay Makiling, Calamba, Laguna – Santo Tomas, Batangas
  2. Barangay San Agustin, Alaminos, Laguna – Santo Tomas, Batangas

Laguna and Quezon boundary

  1. Barangay San Antonio 2, San Pablo City, Laguna – Tiaong, Quezon
  2. Barangay San Antonio, Luisiana, Laguna – Lucban, Quezon
  3. Barangay Tunhac, Famy, Laguna – Real, Quezon
  4. Barangay San Isidro, Majayjay, Laguna – Lucban, Quezon
Continue reading below ↓

This is in addition to over 300 checkpoints put up in Metro Manila to enforce the 10pm-to-5am curfew and ensure that minimum health standards are being followed. “Within the [GCQ] bubble, the movement is not restricted,” stressed Lt. Gen. Guillermo Eleazar, officer in charge of the PNP.

So, quick recap: Mobility within the GCQ bubble remains unrestricted, but only authorized persons may travel into and out of Greater Manila until April 4. To avoid having your leisure travel plans and bookings go to waste, make them flexible or put off making them for now. You can also limit your travel plans to areas within the GCQ bubble, but again, follow health protocols diligently. If you ask us, it’s still best to stay at home for now.

Continue reading below ↓

See Also

PHOTO: Jerome Ascano
  • Quiz Results

  • TGP Rating:

    Starts at ₱

    TGP Rating:
    Starts at ₱